We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sherbrooke
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is very nicely decorated. Feels like a nice metropolitan boutique. Beds, bath and room all clean and comfortable. I had a room on the Penthouse floor and paid $234 CAD including parking.

Oddities include no room service and no mini bar. For non-Canadians dont forget that the rate plus tax will kick up the price an additional $30+ so the "+ tax" is a significant difference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngryMonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 362 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

I didn't choose this hotel it was chosen for me. It's been a fine place to stay and I would chose to stay here again. The room is nicely decorated and comfortable. I had a lakeside view from my room-watching the sunrises and sunsets were delightful. The only thing that disappointed me was the disposable cutlery/plates at the breakfast-such a waste. The buffet had many kinds of breads, cereals, fruit, cheese and beverages. The hotel is situated close to lots of attractions and next to a lake with walking trail.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice hotel period. They pretend to be a 4 stars. Sorry they are not. I think that a four stars should either have a coffee machine in the room complimentary or offer coffee to there guests at the lobby. They will charge 40$ for a coffee machine. Imagine 40$ to get 1 or 2 coffees. The breakfast was so bad, stero plates, plastic knife and fork, orange tray, uncomfortable chairs and table, Starts only at 7:00 during weekends, we just went elsewhere. We were very disappointed by that hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2T3M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I selected this hotel based on a previous stay. The hotel is one of the newest in Sherbrooke and conveniently located. I organized a meeting and booked five rooms – one on the hotel website and then I switched to e-mail with the front desk as the arrival dates for my team were in flux. All of us were outside of Canada. I had a few changes – one the day of arrival. The front desk crew was helpful throughout and waived any fees for the short notice cancellation of one room.

Check in for all was fast and friendly. We all got a bunch of ‘twofers’ for the lounge. Make sure you get them upon check-in – drinks are expensive.

You have the option of free parking outside or for an additional fee the inside garage. In non-snow weather the outside is actually quicker in and out. In winter inside is a bargain. The hotel sits next to a park and lake. Views from the lounge and lake facing rooms are stunning. There is patio seating.

The rooms are good size, well-appointed, and clean. Internet is good and the bath amenities are well thought out. My room had a mini fridge and the hotel is about two blocks away from two grocery stores for treats. Bed was big and comfortable and quality of sleep was good.

Included breakfast is basic with fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, and a variety of bagels and breads. There are four toaster stations with everything needed and all are serviced from behind so there is never a bottleneck - it is actually a neat idea. The attendants did a good job of dealing with the ebb and flow of the morning crowd.

Check-out was fast and accurate. The trip was smooth and enjoyable. The décor is a nice change from the uniformity of chains. I did not personally use the business center or the fitness center but they were there and everything else worked so well that I would expect the same all around. I will stay here again and do recommend it.

Room Tip: Executive Lofts are a real value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archer1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was the best option for our stopover return from Montreal and is in a perfection location. It is what I would consider to be trendy/chic with lots of glass, very modern interior done in black/grey/red. However, it is geared toward businesses and conferences rather than family travel. The location is right on a river with walking paths and a little market but again, if you are wearing jeans and sweatshirt you will look out of place amongst all the suited men and women. Nothing is complimentary here except for the "healthy" continental breakfast consisting of fruit, breads, yogurt, dry cereal. This is the first hotel where everything from the towels, bed linens and even furnishings have a price tag on them if you are interested in purchasing them. Even the bottle of water in the room was $3.99 if you opened. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are lovely, spacious and very clean but just feels very professional and starched. Is quite pricey as well with one night stay costing us $180.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved the beds and pillows! the room was very clean and big. But the "buffet" breakfast was a joke! Then had 5 types of bread (still in their bags), some jam, and a horrible orange juice! Don't wake up for breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aceap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here when I went to Sherbrooke for a official visit. They have all the facilities in the hotel. It's good for a person who is planning to stay for a long time too. They have a washing room where you can do self laundry.
Hotel is in the downtown. So there are lots of places where you can go. Specially you don't have to worry about the food. There is nice lake in right front of the hotel.
Only draw back is the breakfast. There were no much of variety but it was a very healthy breakfast. You may tend to fed up with it when you have it for two consecutive weeks.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Chinthaka_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherbrooke hotels
2.5 mi away
OTL Gouverneur Sherbrooke
OTL Gouverneur Sherbrooke
#3 of 15 in Sherbrooke
52 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 15 in Sherbrooke
540 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 15 in Sherbrooke
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sherbrooke Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites
Quality Hotel & Suites
#14 of 15 in Sherbrooke
58 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#12 of 15 in Sherbrooke
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke

Address: 1 rue Belvedere Sud, Sherbrooke, Quebec J1H 0G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sherbrooke
Price Range: $152 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing