We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marquis de Montcalm
Ranked #1 of 11 Sherbrooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

June 22. No breakfast served as the owners were on vacation in France. The price was adjusted accordingly. We were assured that there were suitable restaurants within walking distance. Daughter spoke poor English but said there was no place near for breakfast. Refrigerator didn't work and stunk of red wine. Hot water was at a premium. Had breakfast at a McDonalds where no one spoke English and menu was in French. It is a stupid law that prevents the use of any language except French. I will avoid travelling in Quebec in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
62
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's not the newest house you expected,but,ow boy what reception...
I just feel like coming back home and that the lady there, was really attentive .
the room was very nice ,clean and charming. The location ,perfect. and the breakfast....,
very,very good. I'm a coffee drinker,but they didn't mind bringing me as much as i want
the eggs where awesome and the cup with yogurt delicious and with a beautiful presentention

Room Tip: i loved the the decoration,was a trip . very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria edite o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is my second nite, they are well located walking distance to the old city center. The rooms are very nice, furnished in the old european style but wilth all the necessities (cable TV, bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast yesterday was very good. Its a 130 year old house that was refurbished by the current owners...the owners are nice and very helpful.
Well worth booking here.

Room Tip: take a room in the back so that you will not hear the few cars that use the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QC-CDNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
154 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This little inn is a real treat if you are travelling from anywhere in New England to Montreal or Quebec City. The rooms in the inn are lovely, the owners are very nice and helpful and the breakfast is excellent!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmontcalm, Owner at Marquis de Montcalm, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for the rewiew... We hope that you had a nice trip back !

Thanh-Hoa and Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Their website states:
True to the gourmet tradition of the Eastern Townships, we cordially invite you to our cozy dining room, the Place Saint-Michel, where a variety of pleasures and treasures await you. As you relax at your charming wicker table, you are surrounded by the colourful paintings of Manon Carrier, lush green plants and beautiful porcelain dishes and open books.

"Our classic gourmet breakfasts include: fruit cocktails, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast and jam. Eggs scrambled with sun-dried tomatoes and topped with melted Brie, vegetable quiche, French toast topped with a mountain of fruit, as well as other specialties are served on a seasonal basis to delight your palate."

We booked this far out of reach bed and breakfast specifically for what they advertise as a "gourmet breakfast". We were very disappointed with what we were served however: Sliced Banana and Watermelon, Scrambled Eggs with pieces of ham, toast or bagel, and yoghurt. No french toast "topped with a mountain of fruit" was seen and no quiche of any kind.

This B&B is not serving a "gourmet breakfast" as advertised. Check out the fancy sliced banana and watermelon (photo)

The reviews here at TripAdvisor are amazing for this B&B and I note that amazing reviews coincide with the date that we were there. We were the only guests on the 4th of September however as I did not hear or see anyone else. After breakfast was served the owners could be seen leaving to bring their children to school. A note was left for us when we left to leave the keys.

Perhaps given that we were likely the only guests and that the Summer holiday is over they decided to cut corners on the service? We did nevertheless pay regular price.

I serious question the amazing reviews that continue to be posted even for the time period that we were there dining alone on bananas and watermelon. This is the first time I feel fooled by TripAdvisor reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great bed and breakfast. The rooms are really enormous. We had a suite, which is almost like having a little apartment without the kitchen, but they do provide a refrigerator. Everything is scrupulously clean. It is the cleanest place I've been in recently. Even the shower is perfect. The hosts are the best-- pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect -- convenient to downtown and there is plenty of parking. The breakfast is out of this world. All this for an incredibly low price! I would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Sherbrooke and I'm surely going to recommend it to my friends. The only "hic" is that they do not provide a bar of soap. For my shower I prefer a bar of soap as opposed to liquid soap. But this is getting to be standard in some places so I travel with a bar of soap.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back to be away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMR4roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a very pleasant one-night stay at this well-maintained B&B. The proprietress was most gracious, and very helpful in discussing and booking dinner plans. Our homey top-floor room (steep stairs) was large, well-furnished, and nicely air-conditioned. They have a small outdoor deck which was perfect for having a pre-dinner glass of wine, but a small breakfast room is the only other common space. Breakfast was very good. Location is a residential area, but close to the downtown. Plenty of parking is available either in driveway or a vacant lot across the street. We would choose this property again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sherbrooke hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#3 of 16 in Sherbrooke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sherbrooke Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#9 of 16 in Sherbrooke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ile de Garde
Ile de Garde
#2 of 11 in Sherbrooke
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis de Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis de Montcalm

Property: Marquis de Montcalm
Address: 797 General-De Montcalm St., Sherbrooke, Quebec J1H 1J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sherbrooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquis de Montcalm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1800s and located in the city of Sherbrooke's heritage district, our lovely Victorian home has been fully renovated for your maximum enjoyment and comfort.Come and experience the Marquis de Montcalm, regardless of the season, and partake of the bustle of concerts, festivities, antique dealers, bars and restaurants just seconds from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marquis de Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Montcalm Sherbrooke, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing