We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and courteous.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marquis de Montcalm
Ranked #1 of 12 Sherbrooke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and courteous.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This B & B was recommended by the tourist information and is quite a jem. We got the last room. It was not large but comfortable and very clean. We were given directions to restaurants within walking distance; suggestions on which towns to visit in the outlying areas. Very knowledgeable about their vicinity. Breakfast was delicious. In all, a place that I would highly recommend if you are visiting Sherbrooke. It seems best to book in advance, if you are able.

Room Tip: There are a number of stairs to the home..if you have mobility issues, this would not be a good plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lifesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    20
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
68
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Bc
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in the Cours de Versailles room (king suite). Exemplary service, I cannot say enough about our lovely hosts. They made us feel welcome and went above and beyond, allowing me to use their computer and printer to make Via Rail bookings, phoning for cabs, offering restaurant suggestions. The breakfast, both days, was excellent. The first day we had one of the most delicious yoghurts I've ever had, French toast with lots of fresh fruit, and a fantastic cafe au lait. The second day we had yoghurt (a different flavor), and scrambled eggs with mushrooms, ham and cherry tomatoes, along with another delicious cafe au lait. The bed was very comfortable with a nice thick pillow top and the suite was clean from top to bottom. The furnishings in the room were a bit haphazard - a bit of this and a bit of that with little real cohesion but this is a minor complaint. I would definitely stay here again. $124 per night including breakfast.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayer at the b&b for a week end. Rooms are big and clean; each one has it's own bathroom. We took a suite That has a flat screen and a mini fridge. Service is outstanding, breakfast is really good and healthy. Finally the location is excellent. Nothing bad to say! Ill definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helap58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Two thumbs up and 5 Stars! My husband and i found this B & B excellent (and we stay in many B & B's).
The owners are gracious and welcoming and very helpful.
The rooms are lovely.
Breakfast was not only delish but the presentation so pretty we hesitated to eat it.
We did!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUZANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The house is well located and parking is easy. The rooms were lovely and the breakfasts were excellent. The coffee was also excellent, unlike at some B&Bs. Most importantly, Thanh and Sylvain were very gracious hosts. We happened to have more contact with Thanh and she was especially helpful and friendly. She made you feel welcomed and wanted - you didn't feel that you were just a "guest". This B&B merits its high ranking and awards. (We happened to stay there on 2 separate occasions and had the same room both times so I cannot comment on all the rooms, but I expect they are all very nice)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jilleastfallowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This is our second stay at the Marquis de Montcalm and would stay again. This B&B is clean and comfortable. The owners are great! They are so kind and most welcoming. You would not be disappointed in a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Lovely B&B in pristine condition and well maintained. The room was gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed to stay there and spend relaxing time after business meetings in Sherbrooke. Thanks a lot to the owners who were very helpful and kind !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nelh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherbrooke
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Floral
Hotel Le Floral
#1 of 16 in Sherbrooke
498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#2 of 16 in Sherbrooke
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke
#3 of 16 in Sherbrooke
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sherbrooke Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
Comfort Inn Sherbrooke
#11 of 16 in Sherbrooke
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis de Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis de Montcalm

Property: Marquis de Montcalm
Address: 797 General-De Montcalm St., Sherbrooke, Quebec J1H 1J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sherbrooke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sherbrooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquis de Montcalm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1800s and located in the city of Sherbrooke's heritage district, our lovely Victorian home has been fully renovated for your maximum enjoyment and comfort.Come and experience the Marquis de Montcalm, regardless of the season, and partake of the bustle of concerts, festivities, antique dealers, bars and restaurants just seconds from the downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Marquis de Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Montcalm Sherbrooke, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing