We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for pub atmosphere,but noisy for a quite meal”

Le Trou du diable - Broue Pub et Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Shawinigan
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

This pub is situated in Shawinigan where Shawinigan Water & Power started & later became a part of Hydro Quebec. Shawinigan Chemials was also a part of this ancient power co. which was demolished and now on this site is the arena & a new housing development. The Boutique of this pub is little bit far from the pub and installed in a building which was site of Shawinigan textile and later Wabasso. Also,this city is called city of energy The pub is near Auberge Gouverneur. A historic city and the pub of the brasserie Le true du diable is a good addition to this.
The atmosphere is suitable as a pub, but for a quite supper this place is noisy. Clients can taste different types of beer from the brasserie. Food is expensive. A plate of 6 in/6 in spare rib with salad is about $30/ without tax.The tourists should include Le Trou du diable for their Travel itinerary.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank akbasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 338 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2018

Yesterday (Monday), we arrived at the restaurant around 5:40 pm. The guy (with a beard) behind the bar asked us, « Is it to drink or eat? » We said « we wanted to eat. » He then respond « The kitchen is NEVER opened on Monday » in a very condescending manner. This was our first time ( and last) at the restaurant, we don’t know when the kitchen is open or not. He then said very rudely, «We need all the tables by 6:00 pm, we have a group coming. You’ll have to leave for 6:00 pm. » We replied, « We will go somewhere else ». Which he replied, «  Great! Why don’t you do that. » So if you enjoy being treated like garbage, this restaurant is for you. Otherwise, take the barman’s advice, go somewhere else!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Great place..mostly frequented by the young Cegep students and tourists. Great place to connect although for talking, I prefer Cafe Morgane ,,an internet place on the fifth street just north.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Andre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

The pub food is pretty decent. I liked the home made sausage. The beer selection is pretty good and tasted pretty good as well. I disagree about the comment on English skills. Our group had no problem. And service was fine, although the restaurant wasn't crowded/

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cgny1fwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trame Sonore Ma... T, Responsable relations publiques at Le Trou du diable - Broue Pub et Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you for your comment cgny1fwd! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We went there on recommendation and were satisfied. We had all three beer degustations - it was a tasteful tour around flavours of canadian beer. The waiter was friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ViktorV317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trou du diable - Broue Pub et Restaurant also viewed

Shawinigan, Quebec
 
Saint-Jean-des-Piles, Shawinigan
Shawinigan, Quebec
 

Been to Le Trou du diable - Broue Pub et Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing