We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Stars??? Maybe 20 years ago! Completely overpriced!”

Auberge Escapade Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Escapade Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shawinigan
Guelph
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“4 Stars??? Maybe 20 years ago! Completely overpriced!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night in one of the deluxe rooms (oriental theme). The hotel says it is a 4 star, but they must have been granted that designation 20 years ago and never took the sign down. It is an old motel. The room was stinky, everything was covered in dust. I wished I could have smoked in there to improve the smell. Just got the feeling that many prostitutes have entertained in this room. For $148 per night, I expect a lot more! When I went to check out in the morning, it took 10 minutes for someone to come down to the front desk. Filthy, low class, overated and overpriced motel. I would not reccomend this place to anyone unless you are looking for a place to take a prostitute or are really desperate for a place to sleep (in your clothes).

Room Tip: rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSaleswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
17
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boucherville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at the Escapade for 11 nights during the Memorial Cup tournament.

Room was clean. Air conditioning worked fine (it got warm for a few days). Bathroom was of decent size and shower water pressure was good.

Menu selection for the breakfast was limited (with the included coupons). Any substitution (eg: ham instead of bacon) would automatically trigger a surcharge. Service was quick and efficient.

Overall a nice stay. Lots of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It is a nice charming hotel. The bathtub was gigantic and comfortable after a long days work.
The rooms are charming.
I dined in the restaurant a few times and the food was delish!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario,CANADA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Organized my trip with Trip Advisor as I always do. They had Escapade as top choice, with alternatives Hotel des Gouverneurs or Comfort Inn. In the end, Escapade is a good choice to meet my criteria: top notch reservation service, price ratio, comfortable bedding, tops for cleanliness, no bed bugs, easy expressway access, friendly reception upon arrival, free WIFI, restaurant availability. This is a traditional motel: car parked at 5 feet from the room. It is at crossroads of highways on outskirts of city. Reception desk most cooperative, early breakfast included in attractive setting. However, must say Gouverneurs more charming from outside,better located downtown, but I have not stayed there. One thing Escapade has to do soon: change the wall to wall carpet as it is unattractive though clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeniatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawinigan
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
Hotel Marineau Shawinigan
#1 of 6 in Shawinigan
63 reviews
3.0 mi away
Auberge Le Flores
Auberge Le Flores
#1 of 2 in Grand-Mere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Auberge Gouverneur Shawinigan
13.9 mi away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
357 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aux Traditions
Aux Traditions
#1 of 4 in Saint-Jean-des-Piles
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Escapade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Escapade Inn

Property: Auberge Escapade Inn
Address: 3383 Rue Garnier, Shawinigan, Quebec G9N 6R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Shawinigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shawinigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Escapade Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Escapade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Escapade Inn Shawinigan, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing