We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got what we expected”

Restaurant Parmesan
Ranked #56 of 1,522 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sultry red, green and orange hues are part of the welcoming décor of this restaurant which carries you for a few hours to the wonderful Italy of music and laughter. In winter, our lovers can bask in an atmosphere warmed by two beautiful fireplaces. But the uniqueness of the decor rests primarily on the fascinating collection of more than 4,000 bottles of every shape and size from every corner of the Earth.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were not with very high expections about the Parmesan. The food was average, the service not bad and the bill at the end also average for Québec City standards.

Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 838 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a really nice time at Restaurant Parmesan. The staff were wonderful, the food very good, nice ambiance, fun music, and Luigi was very engaging. This all made or dining experience worth remembering. The staff definitely aim to please. We would go back anytime!
Leslie (aka J Fonda) xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Food is just okay, pastas, seafoods. Dessert bar is amazing and as good as it looks. The service is great and the memorabilia thru out the restaurant makes it very interesting. It is on the tourist strip so didn't expect much in the good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vsstanton369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parmesan1, Owner at Restaurant Parmesan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about our restaurant. We are sorry that our food was not up to your expectation. Suffice to say that we use the best ingredients in our kitchen. If your read comments from other people, you will notice that most of them praise the quality and the flavour of the food. We have been in business for over 40 years and served millions of people. Nevertheless, when you decide to combe back, please bring a copy of your comments and you shall receive something special and a small gift. Answered bye the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The place was a buzz with an accordion player to liven things up. One of the wait staff joined in the singing which is probably his custom.
I have the seafood pasta which was a little lacking...as in seafood. The shrimp was small and probably from a tin, while the scallops were sliced into small pieces. You go for the ambience not the food

Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parmesan1, Owner at Restaurant Parmesan, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Your complain about the lack of sea food in your sea food pasta is a new one for us but nevertheless it will be brought to the attention of our chef. It would have been much appreciated if you had made these comments to the Maitre D that same night. Upon verifying your statement on the spot, we would have replaced your plate. Please come back and see us and don't forget to bring a copy of your comments in order to receive something special and a small gift. Answered by the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Parmesan looks tiny from the outside, but can accommodate A LOT of customers.
However, it's too cramped.

We went there a saturday night, around 6-7pm, 5 people without reservations.
We had a table right away and the service was very good and fast despite the fullness of the restaurant.

The food is good, but overpriced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine_Dery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parmesan1, Owner at Restaurant Parmesan, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We thank you for your comments. You came on a Saturday night without a reservation and we squeezed in your party of 5. As you sat, we are sure that you must have noticed how crowded it was. It's then that you should have decided to go somewhere else, not weeks after. But then you would have missed the very good and fast service and the very good food that you, yourself described. As for the fact that the food was 'overpriced" what do you compare it to? Do these other places have a musician and a singer? From what we gather from your whole statement, you had a wonderful evening. That's what we aim for. Thank you for noticing it. Please come back and bring a copy of your comments and you shall be entitled to a surprise and a small gift. Answered by the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Parmesan also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Parmesan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing