We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Laurie Raphael

Laurie Raphael
Reserve with OpenTable
Laurie Raphael is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,499 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $118
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: St-Andre
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant with a group of friends as a special treat. We were disapointed because we felt the whole experience was "average" even if it was very expensive. First of all the air conditioning was not working well so it was very hot and uncomfortable. The service was good and friendly, so we can't complain about that. However, the most important - the food - had it's ups and downs. I had the fish on the main menu and it was extremely salty. My husband had the chef chef which he was pleased with, but not blown away like he thought he would be. We both felt that we could get a similar meal at a restaurant that would be much less expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaryR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie-Alex V, Guest Relations Manager at Laurie Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your experience at Laurie Raphaël.
We hope to see you again someday in one of our restaurant.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 734 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

There are many great restaurant in Quebec city but this is soooo good I am tempted to say the
best ! So creative and delicious ! The owner , an awesome chef also gives private courses
for small groups wow ! He wants the best quality from his suppliers so us customers get best
fish the best vegetables it is worth the price . A must if you get the chance to eat there .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paulyne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie-Alex V, Guest Relations Manager at Laurie Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very formal but disappointing service. Food was good but menu options were limited. The "Chef Chef" option was chosen by one of the people at our table, and it was really enjoyed. Another person chose the orange souffle dessert which was superb! Though the restaurant aspires to the quality of a Michelin starred establishment, given the service and inconsistency of other dishes, it didn't quite measure up (except in the high price).

1  Thank Artfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie-Alex V, Guest Relations Manager at Laurie Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Sorry you didn't like your experience.
We hope to see you again in our restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Expected great things but at this price etc level, we were definitely disappointed. The food was OK - we opted for the 5 course menu with the wine pairings. Several of the dishes contained local asparagus which had imparted a rather bitter flavor and generally felt that the combinations etc didn't work well. Quantities were small - not really enough and the dessert was a miniscule bit of custard tart sold as something far grander. The wine pairing consisted of 3 wines and a very small amount of beer... again just OK but not wines which I felt really enhanced either wine or food. Service was disjointed - we were left twice out of five courses waiting for the wine whilst the food went cold. Our table was not the best placed and a couple of the waiters kicked my chair every time they went past... Very irritating - it wasn't as though the restaurant was crowded or full. Bread was poor.

Over-priced and not up to it... Would not go back (or to its sister restaurant in Montreal) and wouldn't recommend it.... At this price level there are much better options in Quebec.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie-Alex V, Guest Relations Manager at Laurie Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your helpful review and sorry you didn't like your experience at Laurie Raphaël.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is like going to the theatre but aprticipating rather than watching. The courses were sumptuous, creative and DELICIOUS. It is 3 to 4 hours of pure enjoyment.

Thank lizjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie-Alex V, Guest Relations Manager at Laurie Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your experience!
We hope to see you again in our restaurant :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurie Raphael also viewed

 
 

Been to Laurie Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing