We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed and extremely helpful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Historique James Thompson
Ranked #7 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We initially contacted the James Thompson after reading the overall reviews and determining that it was within our budget and had what we were looking for. My first impression was when I called to check availability and talked to the co-owner Guita, she was quite happy to offer us a room with private bathroom for $120 which included both taxes and parking. This seemed quite reasonable so I said I would like to book with her and offered to provide a credit card to hold the room, she politely said that this wasn't required since they worked on the honour system. This truly set the tone for all of our future dealings with the owners!

On our day of arrival we were running a little late and I called and talked to Greg (the other owner) to let him know we would be only arriving at 10pm. He seemed just fine with this and told me to take my time and just arrive safe...amazing! When we did arrive Greg showed us to the "Red Room" which was on the second floor. This room was had two queen beds (with a firm and a soft mattress to choose from!), private clawfoot tub, three bay windows that opened onto the streets below, free nation wide calling, wifi, a mini cooler/heater for food, and wonderfully red themed room. After being settled we again talked to Greg who pulled out a map of the old city and pointed out a few nice places to see at this time of night.

The next morning we were greeted by a large breakfast with a wonderful selection of fruit, juice, crepes, wild mushrooms (picked by Greg), eggs, back bacon, French toast, etc. This was a great bonus since the cost of a meal in Old Quebec can be quite pricey, it allowed us to just have a light (cheaper) lunch and just have to pay for a dinner.

During breakfast Greg offered us the opportunity to join him on his walk. Conveniently Greg is one of the licensed Tour Guides in the area so he was quite knowledgeable of both the history of the city and the uniqueness off the area's environment. He took us out with another set of guests for a 1.5 - 2 hour trail hike that I would have never have found on a tourist map. It was a great start to our first full day and was of course was free.

We stayed with Greg and Guita for three nights and all my dealings with them and the other guests were quite pleasant. I would highly recommend this location for anyone who is looking for an excellent location, good food, and affordable accommodations for what you get. I know we will return one day!

Room Tip: The Red Room -$120/night -two queen beds (one firm, one soft... brilliant!) -2nd Floor -parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our 10th anniversary in 2009. The location was perfect! We only left the walled city 2x during our 1 week stay, so it was just right for us. Greg was the perfect blend of helpful and friendly without being overbearing or "in your face". We had the room with our own bathroom and were very comfortable. Breakfasts were so filling that we were able to skip lunch every day and spend our money on the many amazing restaurants in the upper and lower village. If I have any criticism it is that there is very limited parking, however, to have a parking space on site at all is a bonus!

Room Tip: There is a room with an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were there in June 2011 and have travelled a lot since. This place has become our bench mark, and we haven't found any that match it for comfort and historic elegance. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. I have never spent so much time in the morning just relaxing before going for breakfast (we were the last ones down every day). We were provided with a walking tour guide of the old city, given information on where to dine (some of the best food I've eaten is just across the street). But here is what think was the kicker: we decided to go whale watching and mentioned it to Greg. He suggested we pack a lunch for your journey; he supplied us with a cooler, ice packs, wine glasses, etc... We didn't have the greatest weather for whale watching, but having lunch with wine on the boat made us the envy of the cruise. Thanks for the great memories Greg.

Room Tip: Go ready to relax, ask your host for suggestions as to what to see and do, they can help make so awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was enormous and delicious, prepared fresh for us. Greg was very helpful and answered all our questions about the city. Our room was lovely and we enjoyed the 3D tv on a snowy afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent the last weeknd of the 2012 Winter Carnival at the MHJT. Greg and Guita were very helpful, responsive and accomodating to our inquiries, reservations and stay. Very historic, lots of character,; the house and Greg!
Easy to find, located where you park your car and dont get back into it untilo you are leaving for good.
There were six of us, myself, my wife and two kids and my daughter and her husband. We were able to get two adjoining rooms on the third floor. Our room ahd a queen and two individual beds for the kids. the other room was a queen. central shared bathroom, no big deal. warm, lots of blankets, heat was good. we were very comfortable the entire stay. Even ahd a TV area we could all sit and warm up and watch a movie on a giant flat screen TV.

The breakfast was amazing. Juice, endless coffee, tea, hot coccoa, individual fresh fruit bowl, muffins, croesants. You have a choice of eggs to order, french toast, Belgian waffle , fresh blueberry creppes, all with suasage or bacon. and more coffee. a table of cereals to choose fomr that had to be at least 30 different choices. Greg is a retired firefighter and knows the importance of lots of good coffee. Plan on only eating two meals a day. You are stuffed from the breakfast.

Greg will advise you on places to eat, things to see and such. he is a wealth of info, has a great sense of humor and goes the extra mile.

If you want a great lodging experience without the impersonal feel of a hotel, this is the place. You cant go wrong. we will return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huntgrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Its in the heart of walled city, one can walk to all the the most interesting sites.
The owners are very hospitable and knowledgeable of the place.
Breakfast! it is was so good and so much .... that I wished I booked my lunch heaps later in the aftenoon. The house itself is historical. better value, specially if one is a couple.

Room Tip: all the rooms are spacious, the bottom rooms tend to have bigger bath space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captaintradeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This historic home is located right in middle of the Old City, just steps from the famous Chateau Frontenac. Greg (the proprietor) not only sets an elegant table and prepares a mean French toast, but he is also full of helpful tips and historic information about Quebec City so you don't miss a thing during your stay. This has to be the best deal in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Diamant
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 120 in Quebec City
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Historique James Thompson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Historique James Thompson

Address: 47 rue Ste.Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range: $58 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home was built in 1793 and it situated within the fortified walls of famous Vieux Quebec. It is classified as an Historic Monument by the Government of Quebec and has a 4 "sun" rating. Our tastefully decorated guest rooms have Queen-sized beds for your comfort. We offer two rooms, each with one Queen-sized bed, and the third room has two Queen-sized beds. Our entire home is protected by a well maintained fire detection system that is monitored all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maison Historique James Thompson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Historique James Thompson Hotel Quebec City
Maison Historique James Thompson Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing