We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patio Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Versa Restaurant - CLOSED

Versa Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Grill, American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Boulevard Charest
Transit: Plusieurs reseaux du RTC disponible. Many public transportation available
Description: Versa is the only Oyster Bar in Quebec City. Discover the unique seasonal cuisine of Chef Benoit Poliquin. Diver scallops, AAA flank steak, duck brest, and fresh fish arrivals prepared with high standards. Find out what's the chef special of the day.
Calgary
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Patio Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to stray from the centre of Quebec to see if we could find a better value (tastier and lower cost) alternative. We stumbled across Versa, because the patio looked nice and there were lots of people.So glad we chose to stop here. The service was quick and efficient. Tap water arrived and was quickly followed by our drink order. We had paid a small surcharge for a salad, which arrived looking lovely. The yellow beets in the salad were amazing. We finished, the plates were whisked away and our mains arrived. Foolishly, we had said that we would handle our allergies ourselves -my salmon was on naan bread (instead of beside as we had assumed) and my lactose intolerant friend had her beef on top of creamy mashed potatoes , with gravy on them. So switching the naan and the potatoes was impossible. But it was all so delicious that we lost ourselves in the meal. I had an espresso that had a perfect topping of creme and paid the bill. A delicious meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4bigdogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm not sure I've seen such a collection of oysters at great prices (think $2 each). Better yet they were beautiful. The restaurant sits in a revitalised part of the city in a pedestrian street with several other bars and restaurants. Although it was quiet on the Wed night we went, it would be a buzzy environment on busier nights. The menu and service was food and we would return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank roamers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I came here with some of my girls on the Ladies night thursday and I have one thing to say : wow. They cut the bill in half, so you get super great food and drinks at a super cheap price. I ordered oysters : so fresh and only 1$ each until 8pm, I would have ordered more. The General Tao made with Jack Daniel's, so so good. The lichitini, out of this world (and only 5$ instead of 10). The deserts were not so good, but you forget quickly because of the food you ate before !!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chic bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Large, nicely designed restaurant, with an enhanced bistro menu.
They have most of the bistro staple items (tartare, onion soup, steak, chicken, boudin noir etc) and they have the more delicate items (oysters, escargot, fois gras etc).
We enjoyed our diner there. Tasty and flavourful!
A couple of negative points:
1) The atmosphere; given it's a large restaurant it's rather cold.
2)The service is fine but would expect better
3) a bit pricey

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PPlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Was not able to finish my dish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had a beef tartare, the worst I ever had. I am use to eat that in many restaurant in the city. the beef looked everything but fresh, it was more brownish than red. It was so disgusting that I was not even able to eat it. The Creme Brulée was bot creamy, and full of lumps. Honnestly the worst food i had in many year...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Versa Restaurant also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing