We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If visiting QC its a must try.”
Review of Le Pain Beni - CLOSED

Le Pain Beni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: rue du Tresor
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If visiting QC its a must try.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Between the food, service and atmosphere it's a great dining experience. Chicken pesto linguini was the winning dish at our table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nlandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    227
    56
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good, accommodated my food allergy”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had dinner here and the service was very good. Selections were vast and by far the best French onion soup I have ever had. I appreciated that they offered my daughter some kid friendly choices that were not on the menu

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Area, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just showed up without a reservation and a group on nine people and the staff went to some lengths to accomodate us: not just our numbers but our dietary concerns with gluten. The waiter was not only very friendly, but knew how to navigate the gluten sensitivity.

Overall, this restaurant was a wonderful combination of great food, casual but festive atmosphere, fun and professional service in the heart of the tourist area of Quebec City.

The initial hospitality led up to a delicious meal. I loved the salmon tartare and my wife really enjoyed the unique gazpacho (special) soup with a hint of coconut. While I stayed away from it because of the gluten, the reviews at the able of the onion soup were also glowing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsblox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine Quebecoise”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We - literally - ran ino this restaurant, because it was closest to the Hotel Chateau Frontenac and it was a bitter could, stormy rainy evening in Quebec City. Well, sometimes you have to be lucky.

As starter we we had a classical foie gras terrine and a lovely smoked dear carpaccio, followed by papardelle with lamb an a cassolet from black pudding. All four dishes were excellent and so big, that we almost regret ordering a dessert at the beginning of our meal. But it would have been a shame, if we didn´t had the chance to taste the ceme brule with ahorn syrup or the goat cheese ice cream with rhubarb root compote.

Yummy

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barba23rossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't Be Better”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had the plat du jour and every single thing was outstanding. I had tomato salad, trout with delicious vegetables and a number of sauces and fresh fruit salad. The service was great and we couldn't believe the quality of the food in such a touristy spot. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Beni also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing