We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pain Beni - CLOSED

Le Pain Beni
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: rue du Tresor
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were all very happy with our meal.. Waiter was attentive to allergies and had a nice sense of humor.. I had requested an item that is on the lunch me u and they were able to accomodate the request for dinner. We had one of the pizzas.. A bit cheesier than I am accustomed to.. So if you love cheese, you will love the pizzas.. Otherwise, ask them to go easy on it.. Prices are ok.

But overall.. Nice meal... Nice experience

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MakeupArtist40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    227
    56
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The restaurant was recommended by my hotel with a nice discount attached. Although this is sometimes a cause for concern, I really enjoyed my breakfast of waffles with maple syrup and a variety of fresh fruit. My husband's meal came with toast and homemade jam. I took a taste and confirmed with the waiter that it included a hint of rhubarb. Yum! Service was solicitous. A table by the window was an added bonus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Cheerful, elegant, better service and food than most. Very accommodating and friendly staff. As a vegan traveler I had no difficulty getting just what I needed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ao-at-peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, imaginative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate outside on a warm evening in August on the opening night of the Fete de La Nouvelle France, so the atmosphere was great and our meal was accompanied by the sounds of the passing parade. The food was tremendous - I had the parsnip milk and vanilla poached halibut, which was delicious, and a wonderfully exotic desert of lime-chili Sable with white chocolate foam, lime jelly and cucumber sorbet (a first for me!) which was as good as it sounds. The wine (Canadian) was excellent, and the service was helpful and friendly - highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsgoUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bistro fine dining on the Place d’Armes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I’ve eaten at Le Pain Beni 3 times over the last 5 years when in Quebec. Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner it is safe bet for a great meal right on the Place d’Armes and pedestrian only Rue Sainte-Anne. My parents and I had dinner at Le Pain Beni Tuesday September 11, 2012 and had a great early evening meal outdoors on Rue Sainte-Anne.

We all had the 3 course petite table d’hote for $29. They have a great wine section by the glass; I had a nice Pinot Gris that went well with the meal. The soup was a fantastic thick Cream of Turnip soup. The main course Parsnip milk and vanilla poached halibut, delicate and mild, the fish was nice and flakey. For desert a huge Maple Brown Butter Crème’ Brulee, it had a great sugar top that cracked when you hit it and smooth creamy center. Fantastic with coffee.

I like eating outdoors here on the Rue Sainte-Anne, it is a lovely spot neat the Chateau Frontenac and the food and service never disappoints.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travel_nut_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Beni also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing