We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to say”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chateau du Faubourg
Ranked #28 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent place to say”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Staying at the Chateau was amazing. The decor is very unique and the breakfast is excellent (and served with style). Everything at the B&B was excellent .. not one bad thing to say. Also, the location is nice -- it is near the old town but just outside the gates on a vibrant street. I can't underscore that this is agreat place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
44
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Absolutely loved my stay here! the decor is unbelievable the host Philip is very gracious and service is excellent!!
great location, all the rooms are simply breathtaking and very reasonably priced.
loved this B & B and will def go back!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The boyfriend and I stayed here for a long Labor Day weekend .
What a fascinating and an out of the ordinary B+B . The decor is theatrical and way over the top to be sure but amazing and glamorous too. The price is incredibly reasonable.
The rooms are spacious and well furnished and the whole place is immaculate and well kept. The host, Philippe provided great service and a full breakfast daily if wanted.
The location was a short walk to the gates of the old city and yet away from the tourist frenzy. The Rue St Jean is a charming street of cafes, restaurants, bookstores, and shops and brings to mind some of the off-the-beaten path areas you'd' find in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoEndBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

A lovely gem in the middle of old Quebec, Our emendate reaction on entry was WOW...u are transported to another place in time....I booked 2 rooms, one being the library room for my husband & I, the other for our company visiting us from France and celebrating their anniversAry , so I got them the room named Josephine's Boudoir...both our rooms were absolutely lovely and unique! The B&B is in a terrific location and we plan on coming back again for sure! I highly recommend u check it out!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have been there for nine nights. Excellent experience: A lot of private (Belanger Suite) and public space (downstairs). If you also want to work during your stay, that would be no problem. The hotel is very close to a lot of very nice restaurants and bars (also the non-touristy one). You can reach the fancy tourist places (including Cirque du Soleil approx. 15-20 minutes) in walking distance.

The breakfast was excellent: Fresh fruits, croissants, perfectly prepared eggs (boiled, scrambled, French toast ...).

The owner of the Chateau du Faubourg is very nice and kind.

If you look for uncomplicated and decent stay in Quebec City, look at the Chateau du Faubourg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canada-germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Due to a reservation error (which was all MY fault), we arrived unexpectedly at the Chateau. Fortunately, we found Philippe, the manager, who graciously provided two rooms for our first night until the accommodations we had intended to book could be prepared. We spent the first night in two of the beautifully decorated rooms you see on the website and enjoyed a plentiful breakfast the next morning. For our next two nights, we were in an apartment which is at the back of the Chateau. It is not decorated with antiques as the other rooms are, but is attractive and comfortable. The location is great. There are interesting shops and restaurants right around the Chateau and you can easily walk to the walled section of Vieux Quebec. You can't find a more welcoming host than Philippe!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazySeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

When we looked the photos of this B&B, it looked good but we were skeptical if it would be shabby. But we were pleasently surprised. Decor was European themed with right amount of restorations and repairs. Rooms were good, spacious and clean.

Though Phillipe who manages the property is not the owner, but he does provide service with smile. When we arrived there, we were told that the suite that we had booked would be undergoing some repairs on following morning. So instead we were offered a different room (which was even better).

Breakfast was simple and very plain. I thought it could have been better.

The best part of this B&B is its most amazing location. It is bang on the most happening street of old Quebec with most of the attractions at walking distance. This street is full of great restaurants and pubs and almost never sleeps on a saturday night.

Parking can be a bit of hassle on this street although Phillipe helped us find one just in front of the B&B door and save lot of money.

All in all, a very good B&B at a great location!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge J.A. Moisan
Auberge J.A. Moisan
#9 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#6 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A l'Augustine
#20 of 120 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
#5 of 120 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
B&B Au Petit Roi
B&B Au Petit Roi
#39 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau du Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Faubourg

Property: Le Chateau du Faubourg
Address: Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location as they say! A French Second Empire style private and restored chateau in the heart of Quebec City. One of the best values in historical Quebec City that includes your breakfast. We also have some parking spaces available which are a rare find in old Quebec. We have suites and rooms at various rates that would accommodate most traveling budgets. Every suite and room has air conditioning, private bathroom (shower or bathtub), cable TV, coffee machine and free wifi. Our rooms and suites also offer quality mattresses and linen. All rooms have been restored. From the chateau, most of the desirable tourist attractions are at walking distance. We are a few steps from the Quebec convention centre, old Quebec and the Parliament hill. Come to visit and experience the chateau life style of the XIX century but modernized to the XXI. Le Chateau du Faubourg has definitely this European feeling since the style and architecture are very Francais. Hope to see you soon in our wonderful historical city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Faubourg Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing