We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B&B at a perfect location...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chateau du Faubourg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Chateau du Faubourg
Ranked #28 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good B&B at a perfect location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

When we looked the photos of this B&B, it looked good but we were skeptical if it would be shabby. But we were pleasently surprised. Decor was European themed with right amount of restorations and repairs. Rooms were good, spacious and clean.

Though Phillipe who manages the property is not the owner, but he does provide service with smile. When we arrived there, we were told that the suite that we had booked would be undergoing some repairs on following morning. So instead we were offered a different room (which was even better).

Breakfast was simple and very plain. I thought it could have been better.

The best part of this B&B is its most amazing location. It is bang on the most happening street of old Quebec with most of the attractions at walking distance. This street is full of great restaurants and pubs and almost never sleeps on a saturday night.

Parking can be a bit of hassle on this street although Phillipe helped us find one just in front of the B&B door and save lot of money.

All in all, a very good B&B at a great location!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
44
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife, son and I stayed at the Chateau du Faubourg last week and enjoyed it immensely. It was a close walk to the wall, and lots of great little shops were nearby along St. Jean. We especailly liked that it was pretty close to the location of the free Cirque shows. The building itself it very different! Lots of things to look at and enjoy! The icing on the cake was the personality and helpfulness of Phillipe, the host. He went out of his way to be helpful, give good advice and make our stay the best that he could.

Martin

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

This was our second stay at Le Chateau du Faubourg and it was as wonderful as the first visit. We had a lovely suite for us and our 8 and 11 year old granddaughters. The girls loved exploring the Chateau. Phillipe made all of us feel at home. The location is perfect as you are just steps from the old city. There are many great neighborhood restaurants. A perfect place to stay in Quebec Ctiy!

Room Tip: Each room has its own story and character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanEdKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

This is the perfect place where to stay in Quebec City.
The building by itself is fantastic and the owners paid special attention and respect while restoring/decorating it. Your jaw is going to drop when you enter this place. The flaboyant staircase and the living/dining rooms with their antique furniture are just amazing. Elegant and charming!
The rooms are also nicely decorated and very clean (with a private bathroom).
The breakfast is perfect too. I enjoyed my freshly brewed coffee and freshly baked french croissants. For those who like eggs and bacon, you just have to order them from the host.
The location is also perfect. You are at walking distance of everything (Old City, Shops, Restaurants, Bars/Clubs, etc)
And the last... but not the least: the host, Philippe, is very helpfull. He knows his city well and can suggest you some activities.
As the title reads, this B&B is overall... Perfect!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arahmis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

One visit will convice you. We have been at the Chateau twice now and we are in love with the place. The atmosphere and decor is simply out of this world.

Of course the size of your room is matching what you are paying. I strongly recommend the large bedrooms and suite.

I would recommend this place to all friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoodthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

This place looks good and photos and from the outside - but it's all smoke and mirrors. When you look at anything up close and in person it's just garbage. Everything looks like someone's shoddy art project - like the ``paintings`` or the ``stained glass``. You can tell that the ideas of whomever restored this place were good but that he just didn't have the budget - and it shows, it's quite sad really. The guy who greeted us and served us breakfast (whom I suspect isn't the owner) wasn't the very nice but we didn't care. The breakfast was so so so bad. Plain toast from grocery loaf bread and uncut fruit - I could have done better myself at home. We will not be going back nor recommending.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lamome108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed in The Library which is the smallest and the least sumptuously decorated of all the rooms. The room had hardwood floors and was big and clean with a nice bathroom attached. We were disappointed though to find the closet stuffed with a comforter, which was lying on the floor of the closet together with a memory-foam pillow; a rod with a curtain, a coil of cable wire, and a coverlet of some sort which matches the bedspread. The weather was turning cold, and it would have been nice if they had thought to put the comforter on the bed for us. The shower dispenser for shampoo etc also wasn’t filled, and the bath wash was actually empty.
The bed was made and the bathroom washed everyday when we were out. Breakfast was just okay - continental style, but you can request toast and eggs.
The dining room and 3 sitting rooms are decorated flamboyantly to depict the 19th century era. There was no offer to us to sit in the sitting area, and perhaps rightly so because of the maintenance factor.
The location was a definite plus - many boutique shops and nice restaurants and cafes. A busy street which is part of the recommended walking tour of QC.
All in all, it was an average B&B esp. when compared to our first B&B where it felt more comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. It was a nice enough one-time experience in a 19th Century Chateau.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebroruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Royal William
#57 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
#73 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A l'Augustine
#20 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
B&B Au Petit Roi
B&B Au Petit Roi
#37 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau du Faubourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Faubourg

Property: Le Chateau du Faubourg
Address: Rue St-Jean, 429, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location as they say! A French Second Empire style private and restored chateau in the heart of Quebec City. One of the best values in historical Quebec City that includes your breakfast. We also have some parking spaces available which are a rare find in old Quebec. We have suites and rooms at various rates that would accommodate most traveling budgets. Every suite and room has air conditioning, private bathroom (shower or bathtub), cable TV, coffee machine and free wifi. Our rooms and suites also offer quality mattresses and linen. All rooms have been restored. From the chateau, most of the desirable tourist attractions are at walking distance. We are a few steps from the Quebec convention centre, old Quebec and the Parliament hill. Come to visit and experience the chateau life style of the XIX century but modernized to the XXI. Le Chateau du Faubourg has definitely this European feeling since the style and architecture are very Francais. Hope to see you soon in our wonderful historical city! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Faubourg Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing