We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Echaude

L'Echaude
Ranked #25 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not just tourists eat at this lovely little restaurant. Located down by the harbour, it attracts a lot of locals as well - which is always a good sign, and especially so in QC, where there are far too many tourist traps. Food was good to very good, wine list limited but serviceable and the service a bit rushed but very competent. Certainly worth a visit when in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SlumDog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    296
    90
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the best one in Quebec!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited Quebec between Christmas and New Years and stayed 3 nights. The city is full of tourist-traps and mediocre food /service. This place was different for many reasons:

1. It seems more like a place for the more affluent locals rater than pods of photograph-snapping, mouth breathing tourists. We saw multigenerational families and pretty, well groomed French-speaking couples. No sneakers and fanny packs here.

2. The service was not only superior to anything else in Quebec but it beats some of the one Michelin star restaurants we visited elsewhere. Our server, Daniel made us feel like an old friend the minute we walked in. He offered incredible professionalism but also quiet charm. At the end of our meal- he recommended some other places to check out and when we returned the next day-- he remembered us and our preferences. Typically, you may be lucky to get such treatment as a regular at your local favorite spot, but here it was a norm.

3. The food. Very good--not extraordinary--but nevertheless very good. We visited twice - the first time it was very good-- the second day it was even better. How often is ones very good experience surpassed the second time around?

Again, very strongly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed all four of the meals we had. The menu changed daily, and each was excellent. We highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Markchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
778 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
“Good Choice in the Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

A large group of us had supper at L'Echaude in November and were impressed by the service and qualty of the food. The price was pretty much what everyone was expecting. The ambiance was good. I recommend their seafood chowder.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Good bistro, good service, but nothing amazing,

a bit pricy for the quality of food,

overcooked nage de poisson.......basic desserts......

average

godd wine selection however

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Echaude also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to L'Echaude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing