We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late dinner saved the night...”
Review of Echaude

Echaude
Ranked #28 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Late dinner saved the night...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Grilled steak, braised beef on pastry with chanterelles was cooked & sauced perfectly. The steak was tender but not the best cut of meat. Wish the portion was just a little bigger... Nothing left but a clean plate though! Fois gras terrine app was tasty & good sized portion. We layered it on the crispy bread they brought to the table. I preferred it without the marinated radish (too earthy an after taste for me) but hubby enjoyed it all together. The caramel chocolate mousse with peaches & lavender was light and oh so tasty! Couldn't stop eating it! Service was also excellent - we just walked up at 9:45 with no resv (we had been on an evening walking tour then found we couldn't get in at our first choice) & they slid us right in to a terrace table. Hubby enjoyed the beer reco too - lime & framboise beer from a local microbrewery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvl_mama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    320
    101
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant along our walk through Old Quebec. The patio seemed lovely. The place was BUSY and although we did not have reservations, we were escorted to the bar to wait for a patio table which was ready within 10 minutes. I ordered the crisp goat cheese salad appetizer which was very generous and delicious and then the black pudding entree which was smooth and very flavorful! My husband had the sturgeon appetizer (very unique) and the classic duck confit with french fries. Very classic but fun! For dessert we shared the chocolate cake with ice cream. The cake was very dense but chocolatey non-the-less! The server was pleasant and attentive and offered many good suggestions on the menu including the wine pairing (although it always seemed to be the more expensive selections). Wine selections overall were rather expensive. Great place to go for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bemti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Supper with friends”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very good food in a French Restaurant atmosphere.
I would consider it pricy, but very good quality.
We knew before going their price range, very good wine list, but also very expensive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank grpGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings here”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We actually visited E'Chaude two times in a three day period. Our first experience was for lunch and it was fantastic. It was a spur of the moment stop after a hard day of walking the hills of Quebec City. The staff was fantastic and very accommodating, the got us a table right on the sidewalk side of the patio. We split a Croque Monsieur sandwich with Duck Confit, Brie, and carmalized onions. It was excellent and came with frites. The red beer served was also very smooth. We left with a desire to return.

Well, unfortunately we did stop back a couple of days later and were treated pretty badly by the hostess. We asked for a table on the patio and she said the one that was unoccupied had people waiting for it we would have to go inside. She showed us in to a table right under a blower and the noise level was unacceptable. We left and the table on the patio was still unoccupied and the hostess was hanging around the bar talking to the bartender.

My rating is based on our first experience but we still had a sour taste as a result of the second visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naper70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The service & food were both excellent. I loved the tomato appetizer! Small portions of deliciousness. I would love to return here again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eulabelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echaude also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Echaude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing