We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sushis!”
Review of Kimono Sushi Bar

Kimono Sushi Bar
Ranked #153 of 1,437 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Laval
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome sushis!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

One of the best sushis I've ever had! You definately have to try the maki surprise!
Great ambiance and service as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soshee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicest sushis ever ate”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We ordered take-out sushis and were delighted by the "chef's choice' of the day. Try it, it is very good and I'm not a sushi fan!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alain19531207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Winner”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good place for sushi and Japanese food with a nice ambiance and vibe. There's nothing groundbreaking here as most high end sushi places will be quite similar. We had an assortment of sushi and I also ordered the Filet Mignon dish which was very good. If you want good Japanese food and sushi then you won't go wrong with this place. The service was very good too. The total of your bill shouldn't be a surprise if you're frequent sushi eaters as it definitely isn't cheap.

Tip: If you're an American like me and usually only order fried rice with your dish as the rice option then you're out of luck because they only serve white rice and don't offer fried rice as an option. When I asked for fried rice it was as if the waiter had no idea what I was talking about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very friendly and cozy ambiance, good services.
Taste Tataki Tuna and don't forget Salmon "Maki surprise" if you like sushi. Good for your life and for your heart!
Best sushi restaurant in Quebec city!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food, but WAY too long”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was very pleased with this restaurant. I picked the Kelan for 45$+tx (for 2 people) and there was a LOT of food. The lobster maki was great and the TMT was good too! However, these were not my favorite pieces. The Kelan came with 2 spoons which contained some rice and a mixture of fish, tempura flakes, masago and other things I couldn't recognize. I have no idea what they are called, but they were so yummy and slightly spicy! I've eaten at the Metropolitain before (excellent food by the way), but it is expensive compared to Kimono.

BUT, I could not believe that I had to wait 1 hour (after the entree)! I was seated at 6:30PM sharp (had a reservation and it was a Tuesday night) and there was still no food at 8:00PM! I wonder how long people wait on weekend nights!

I will probably come back, but will try to get to the restaurant before 6!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matchamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimono Sushi Bar also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Kimono Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing