We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hearty Lunch at a Lovely Window Table”

L'entrecote Saint-Jean
Ranked #57 of 1,453 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Hearty Lunch at a Lovely Window Table”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

As we strolled the streets of Quebec looking for a place for lunch L'entrecote Saint Jean caught our attention. The windows were opened to the street and the menu was interesting and reasonable. We began with a half liter of white house wine. It was very good. We both had the soup of the day, cream of turnip. It was creamy with a pleasant and distinct taste of turnips. My husband chose sauteed chicken. The generous portion was served with a warm apple topping, julienne vegetables, sauteed mushrooms and pasta with herbs. I chose the grilled Black Forest ham and cheese sandwich. The bread was nicely toasted and the mild cheese was melted perfectly. The sandwich came with petite fries and a fresh mixed green salad. We would not ordinarily order dessert but it was included and absolutely wonderful...vanilla ice cream in puff pastry covered with a generous serving of chocolate sauce. The food was very good, well prepared and presented well. Service was a bit slow and we enjoyed the time to watch the passersby from our cozy table by the window. A definate must when you visit Quebec.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Maryann,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! We always do our best to offer the best service we can to our guests. Hope your trip to Quebec was great too!

Entrecôte Saint-Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    200
    91
    34
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner on our last night”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We tried to get in but it was closed. A local man saw us trying to figure out the hours and he decided to help us get their attention, so he proceeded to loudly tap on the windows until he got a waiter to come to the door. We thanked him for his help and he said something like 'that's how we do it in Quebec.' We asked when they would open and if we needed a reservation, "but of course." So we made an early one, 4:15. When we came back he warmly welcomed us back by name and sat us at lovely window table. We ordered the 30th anniversary special (just for the next month), soup, salad, french bread, steak w/sauce (the secret is in the sauce - their catch phrase) & fries, a glass of wine, profiteroles (AMAZING) and coffee all for 30$ CAN. - a real deal for this town. It was all delicious, the service was friendly and efficient, the atmosphere charming - a great experience for our last night in Quebec City.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Kathleen,

Thanks for your review! Our 30th anniversary was a special moment for us and I hope that you liked the promotion we did. I also hope your trip to Québec City was great overall! Feel free to come back whenever you're around!

Entrecôte Saint-Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We walked past this place several times before finally deciding to give it a try. It was fairly crowded on a Thursday night. We ordered the house specialty, the steak table d'hote menu. It came with cream of vegetable soup, a green salad with walnuts, a steak with the special house sauce complete with a giant portion of french fries, and dessert of profiteroles. The price ranged from about $25 to $30 per person, depending on the size of the steak. This is actually a pretty reasonable price for Quebec City. The food was very good, and the curry in the steak sauce really did add something special. I generally prefer my steak without any sort of sauce, but I would definitely order this again. Profiteroles were excellent. Service was quick and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Reebster,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your table d'hôte! We always do our best in making our guests' experience a great one. Feel free to come by next time you're around!

Entrecôte Saint-Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We went there both nights in Quebec City”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our steak, the incredible steak sauce and the fries. We actually ate there both nights because we don't know if we will ever have the sauce again!

Admittedly, we aren't huge fans of delicacies like fois gras, snails etc. we just wanted a really good steak accompanied by a French style sauce. This restaurant delivered.

The owner and staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharronLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Sharron,

Our steak is a very popular choice and I'm glad you liked it too! Delicacies are great, but sometimes the classics are even better! We hope to see you next time you're around

Entrecôte Saint-Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We choosed The table d'hote menu, it was a promo for $ 30 per person, with a glass Of wine, soup Of the day: it was excellent with fresh bread, green salad that is only lettuce and nuts with a Nice sauce and then the main dish: entrecot with fries. It was very good, but the best Of all it was the profiterole! Incredible! The price was 30 for person plus tax, a good deal if you consider the full service!

Helpful?
Thank Abeillevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReponseClient, Public Relations Manager at L'entrecote Saint-Jean, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Abeillevic,

I'm glad to hear you liked our promotion! Our 30th anniversary was a great moment for us, and we wanted to offer something to our customers to thank them for their fidelity. We hope to see you the next time you're around!

Entrecôte Saint-Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'entrecote Saint-Jean also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to L'entrecote Saint-Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing