We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Burger Joint”
Review of Chez Victor

Chez Victor
Ranked #34 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Manchester, NH
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Trendy Burger Joint”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our first dinner in Quebec. The ambiance was quite nice and the location away from the downtown hub bub was only a couple of blocks from our hotel. We struggled with the French menu a little but the waiter was happy to translate. We had to try these gourmet burgers even though we don't usually eat meat. They were quite good although pricey but we expected to pay more in Quebec. We had salads instead of the fries and everything was delicious.

Paying the bill was done in a new way for us. You go to the register and are given a handheld machine to swipe your credit card and add the tip. We wanted to give the recommended tip amount (15% on the pre-tax amount) but ended up given 15% on the total amount. C'est la vie.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    228
    50
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Burgers are WELL DONE -- as in dry and overcooked!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Okay, I will say that the beer was pretty good. And the place was kinda cute and away from touristy-Quebec City.

The service was not. Tables seated after us were served before us. Drink refills were a foreign concept.

Maybe I'm spoiled by the gourmet burger places in NYC and LA, where you pay $15-$20 for a good juicy burger made to order... because this place was not it. Sure, you pay about $18 a plate, but every burger is WELL DONE... not juicy, not hot, not anything, but slathered in their house mayo. Gross.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This is an very good restaurant. It has very modern furniture and a nice ambience. The food is also very nice. The burgers are very flavorful, however the fries are the best. They are very crispy and tasty. Another good thing about the restaurant is that they have a variety of mayonnaises.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aryaman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Vegge burger !!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I am not big fan of burgers and as being vegetarian get few boring options.but chez Victor changed my view and The best burger I have ever had last week during my Quebec trip. I will be coming back here again before I leave Quebec.

The staff is very friendly and the restaurant is very close from downtown. Then had the classic burger black bean , it was cooked to perfection.Loved it!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadhna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Burgers to Die For!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Exceptional burgers and service to match! Within walkable distance from downtown this is worth the effort. Greeted by a super friendly person who made us feel immediately welcome and got us seated and drinks sorted out in short order. The burgers were beyond good. Tasty, well prepared, and served with a mountain of tasty, hot fries. If you go to Quebec City and don't stop by Chez Victor for a burger you're doing yourself a disservice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MItch_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Victor also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing