We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aviatic Club - CLOSED

Aviatic Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Boul. Jean Lessage
Description: L'Aviatic, aujourd'hui bar a vin, offre une rotation mensuelle de 50 vins au verre et a la bouteille pour accompagner un menu aux portions uniques. C'est donc 200 ou 300 differents produits que le sommelier offre annuellement a la clientele. Ils sont selectionnes non seulement pour leur mariage avec les creations du chef, mais aussi pour permettre d'explorer le monde. Un bel equilibre ou tout le monde peut, le temps d'une soiree, s'evader autour du monde. The Aviatic, now a wine bar, brings you a monthly rotation of 50 wines by the glass or bottle, which can be paired with the unique items on the menu. Every year, sommelier Charles L'Ecuyer brings 200-300 wines to customers. They are selected not only to be complementary to the chef's creations, but also because to give patrons a chance to explore the world. It's a perfect balance, allowing you to take a trip around the world in a single evening.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Salty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ambience is great. Bar/drinks amazing.. I know food, don't believe the reviews . This place is over rated, everything tastes the same . Very salty . For 180 dollars for 2 you can go to a million other places much better. Good concept bad culinary execution . Good be much much better . Seems like the chef left the responsibilities of cooking to a bunch of Sri lanken dishwashers .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George8625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Québec favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Aviatic is one of our favourites in Québec. Consistently excellent and innovative food and extremely friendly and knowledgable staff. This is a great restaurant to go and sample and share a variety of delicious plates and interesting wines by the glass in a fun, but relaxed atmosphere. We return time and again for the Tataki de filet de boeuf and pavé de bar noir and leave the rest up to the staff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swimskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, charming setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautifull dining room, ambiance music, great menu and great food. Service OK but sometimes slow. I understand when people say the menu can be confusing because it is not like a 'regular' restaurant. Just need to be open minded.

Go on a Wednesday for specials (the beef carpaccio is an absolute must) and have your wine/beer/happy hour elsewhere before going to the Aviatic and you will have a wonderfull culinary experience at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatineau
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aviatic club-Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

One of my best lunch this yearling. The fish (bar) is unbelievable. Great dish, decent portion, 50 wines by the glass. The service is awful and competent. The only minimum complaint is that experience is a bit pricey. But all the dishes are good (crab cakes, magret de canard,)

Great atmosphere to !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qc-carriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool vibe but the restaurant needs a/c”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our group supper last week was at the Aviatic.

You can go in off the street or through the train station.

There were lots of us (about 50) and we had five big tables.

They started us off with bread and olive oil/balsamic vinegar. Yum!

The red wine was just okay.

There were a couple appetizers (duck confit spring rolls and a mixed green salad with a goat cheese ball) ... I had a mixed green salad without the goat cheese. It was okay.

We had chicken, salmon or beef to choose from as our main. I chose beef. There should also have been asparagus and a portabello mushroom with it but I didn't want them. It was delicious! The steak was tender and the mashed potatoes were yummy.

Dessert was a chocolate truffle ... but I was full so only had a couple delicious bites.

The food was good and the vibe was funky.

Our servers were friendly and took good care of us.

It was really really hot in the restaurant, though. I was sweating :( The fans on the ceiling are funky but not efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teena_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviatic Club also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing