We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food - great view...”

Bistro Sous le Fort
Ranked #21 of 1,432 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food - great view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. Well priced, very romantic, attentive service. Delicious quiche.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cslec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    378
    82
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was better than the average terrible fare served in Quebec's tourist restaurants, but very expensive. Better to dine at the Frontenace for the value. Good Duck confit. Good service.
The mapple cornbread was overly sweet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spqrxxijhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal sous le fort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Bistro Sous Le Fort was recommended by hotel staff who made a dinner reservation for us the first night we were in QC. The restaurant, a short walk from our hotel on a pedestrian street, is small with an outdoor terrasse. We were seated inside but the windows/doors were open as it was a very pleasant evening. Our server was a lovely young woman who gave us very good service. Reasonably priced, good food. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walkers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch on a rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had no idea where to eat in Lower Quebec. As we walked by Bistro Sous le Fort, the staff was inviting us in, but we weren't ready to commit before checking out other places. We decided to try it - we were soaked from the downpour and had low expectations. Well, it was excellent and well-priced. The space is tiny and it filled up fast, including the outside area. We were seated at a small table. Our waiter was so sweet and tended his tables well. The food was fresh, light enough for lunch but enough to share. My sister and I shared a salad with grilled chicken, my husband had a hamburger and my brother-in-law had bruchette. The guys got french fries with their dishes and we all agreed that the were delicious. It was a wonderful choice for a Quebec lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank socaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Level Contributor
332 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and nice venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was not expecting too much, and had not read any reviews, but ended up in this very touristy area at the bottom of the funicular and dived into this restaurant for dinner - and was very impressed! Service was very good and helpful, the menu had enough choice and the food quality was good. Price was reasonable for here too. We had cod & chips and elk burger - so nothing fancy - but amongst the best fish & chips we'd ever had. I'd definititely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sous le Fort also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Bistro Sous le Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing