We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, and what a surprise!”

Bistro Sous le Fort
Ranked #24 of 1,467 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Loved it, and what a surprise!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Located just a few steps from the funicular exit in Lower Town, this place could probably do a great business based on location alone. I had a late lunch there and had, without doubt, the best onion soup I'd had in Quebec (among several tries). The duck egg rolls were another delicious appetizer. Service was very friendly and prompt, and, though solo, I was well-treated (not always the case). The food was delicious. They had a couple of burgers on the menu that were very tempting. A couple of veg. options as well. Highly recommend (because it is so easy to wander into a tourist trap instead.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elainesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    396
    91
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Although seating is a bit tightly packed the staff make every effort to provide attentive service. The menu has great choices and prices are appropriate for the quality. The decor is creative and contemporary. we loved it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding bistro!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you can't decide from their fabulous menu, the "pleasure plate " for 2 is the ticket! Excellent, excellent....and service was friendly and ....perfect!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank joycejac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So many options, not enough time!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I wanted to try most of the items on this menu, they all sounded really good! We had lunch here, and if we had more time in Quebec City I would have definitely come back here for another meal. Of course what did eat here was good too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank themanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Average food, but excellent location”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We sat on the small and tightly packed terrace and had good service. My burger was OK, not excellent. The salad accompanying it was fresh and tasty. My partner had a shredded duck sandwich. The bun was cold and the sandwich could have been improved. The onion conserve with it was fine and the fries were properly cooked. We shared the creme brulee which we both enjoyed. The wine by the carafe was good. Would we go again? Of course, to sit on the terrace as we always do when visiting over the last twenty years, but I would choose something different to nibble on. The server offered to start the outdoor heater and the blankets on the chairs were welcome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Sous le Fort also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Bistro Sous le Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing