We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed a very pleasant dinner here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panache

Panache
Ranked #8 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $43
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Nestled amid the stone walls of a riverside warehouse dating back to the 19th century, Panache's dining room offers exceptional intimacy and stunning views of the bustling river. On the menu: Chef Louis Pacquelin's cuisine. A cuisine that is revisiting classic dishes with a pioneering approach and a genuine love for local produce, both simple and sophisticated, which vary with the seasons and arrivals. Our produce is sourced primarily from our organic garden on Île d'Orléans and small local producers.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a very pleasant dinner here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were guests of the hotel & had dinner here our first evening. We found the ambience of the restaurant very pleasant & it was full of what seemed to be happy people. We did not have the degustation but selected appetisers & entrees plus we shared a dessert. We also had a half bottle of wine. The food was very good, tasty & well presented. The staff were attentive & professional. We enjoyed our evening

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    136
    63
    49
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining in Quebec”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Panache was the most elegant restaurant we ate at in Quebec City. The decor was lovely and seating was very comfortable. My family ordered the tasting menu with wine pairings. Service was excellent throughout the meal. The food was very good, but sometimes flavor took a back seat to presentation. The wine was also very good. Twice, our server brought out small extra courses which were in addition to the menu. We had a very pleasant, enjoyable meal. It was, however, the one Quebec restaurant we ate at which was entirely filled with US tourists. It was also astronomically expensive--be prepared for high taxes in addition to the price. Recommended for those who love sophisticated dining and are prepared to pay for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank am1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Run away from this restaurant!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I asked our concierge to recommend a nice restaurant for our first night of a 5 day stay in Old Quebec. He recommended Panache, and told us we would be very lucky to get a reservation on such short notice. We were excited to get a table, and looked forward to a pleasant dining experience. This restaurant has the distinction of being both the most expensive meal we have ever had ( $400.) and by far, the absolute worst experience. We opted for the "tasting menu" which is a many course meal offering the chef's "creations". We did not choose the wine tasting ($$$$$) but instead chose what we thought was a bottle of good wine. The "bottle" ( $50.) was actually a half bottle of really bad wine. I could not even drink it, and ordered a cocktail.
The food was awful. An appetizer of "hen's egg with lobster and asparagus puree" was a joke: a runny, soft boiled egg with a few shreds of lobster and some green sauce. I could not eat it, and gave it to my husband. The "foie gras" course is something we are still laughing about. It was a small glass of warm yogurt that a teaspoon of foie gras had been stirred into. The smell was so bad that I could not stand to be near it. It smelled like warm milk and cat food. The "fish" course came in a huge bowl. Inside the bowl were two pieces of lake fish that were the size of quarters in a broth. Ridiculous.
I chose the beef for the main course, and asked for it "medium rare". It came out blood red. The "sauce" for the meat was a berry based sauce which was the equivalent of putting grape jelly on a piece of tough, undercooked beef. Again, it was awful. The chef even screwed up the dessert. Dessert was a small piece of nondescript cake with a passion fruit ice cream. The ice cream should have been good; the chef decided to lace it with hot pepper. Again, inedible.
The service was pretentious. I almost fainted when the bill came. All in all, a truly terrible experience. Save your money and visit any of the other wonderful restaurants in Old Quebec!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chrizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed Panache! We found it the perfect place for a romantic dinner. The ambiance is warm, comfortable and intimate. The service was outstanding from everyone we came in contact with. Every dish was unique, well presented and delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckeamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
350 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very good, not perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had reserved a table at Panache before we arrived at the hotel, anticipating the quality of a Relais&Chateau property restaurant with a new destination chef trying to prove his reputation. The menu was a little sparse wtih enough variety to manage a very good dining experience.The atmosphere and decor was very favorable, we are comfortable with a little more formal experience and don't really care for the noisy,hopping,happening type of place where everyone is texting and sending photos of their plates to all their buddies.This is more adult dining.The service was exceptional and the time between courses was reasonable.The sommelier could have been a little more attentive, but his suggestion for the wine to mix with our meal was very good and the wine list is one of the best I have ever read through.We thought the portions a little shy, including the size of a Johnnie Walker cocktail. We think the stacking of portions takes away from individual flavors.We usually book a table our first night in a hotel so we can eat at the restaurant again if we really have a great expereince.This was just a tad short of bringing us back for a 2nd night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank knife_n_fork32168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panache also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Panache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing