We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better..”

Restaurant Michelangelo
Ranked #277 of 1,469 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Used to be better..”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Something is lost, hard to explain..food was mediocre..New interior design is not appealing. Tables for two seem more crowded behind this massive wall which has a bistro effect on one side . Has lost a lot of the romance....that's all....disappointed, not going back.....very, very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marylou6659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    14
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Despite his great reptutation, my colleagues and I were very disappointed when we went to this restaurant. The service was very bad and the food, too expensive since nothing very special was offered in the menu. There are a lot of great restaurants in Quebec city, going to Michael Angelo is not the best idea!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Élodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Home-Made Traditional Italian Fare”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Enjoyed a fine meal in one of the private salons at the Michelangelo with 4 friends. We were offered this prestigious salon as the main dining room is currently undergoing renovations. (This being said we were told that anyone can reserve a private room).

A true gastronomical experience, the 5 of us were treated to an amuse-bouche consisting of fresh Bruschetta and a deep fried bocconcini to begin the evening.

We then savoured Minestrone soup, and some Beef Carpaccio that was among the best we've ever had. For our main courses, 3 of us had Pasta. They serve sampler plates which include 5-7 different pastas that are simply to die for. (We learned afterwards that there is a small pasta factory right in the lower floor of the restaurant which is why the Pasta was so fresh).

2 of us chose the veal, prepared with a citrus sauce, and extremely tender and tasty.

We chose not to have any dessert as we were completely stuffed after our meal.

We were treated to a traditional Grappa by the wait staff..

Definitely looking forward to coming back here again..

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netrokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muret, France
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food, but really overpriced for what you get ...”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Purpose is certainly to propose high-flying Italian gastronomy.
The objective is partly achieved, as the menu is defined accordingly.
What you get once ordered is good italian food, homemade (i.e. not industrial), but certainly not worth the price you have to pay when the check comes...

Lastly, a really impressive wine list for a restaurant in Canada !

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Djaidje_31600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Outstanding food and service. One of those places you wish you lived near. The best veal I have had in ages!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EFA7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Michelangelo also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing