We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Restaurant in Old Quebec.”
Review of Le Saint-Amour

Le Saint-Amour
Ranked #13 of 1,442 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: St-Louis
Description: Comme un repas se doit d'etre une experience inoubliable a tous les points de vue, les deux proprietaires du Saint-Amour M. Jacques Fortier et le Chef Jean-Luc Boulay ont deploye depuis 1978 leurs energies afin de reunir une equipe passionnee et attentionnee, de la cuisine a la salle a manger. Le Saint Amour se veut figure de proue dans le rayonnement de la gastronomie quebecoise. Alliant tradition et innovation, Jean-Luc Boulay et son chef Patrick Dubé misent sur les plus récentes techniques pour rendre hommage aux fins produits de notre Terroir. Au fil des ans, notre table est devenue un endroit raffine et chaleureux ou le qualificatif de distinctive ne s'arrete pas a la cuisine, mais s'etend jusqu'a l'ambiance et au confort des lieux.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting Restaurant in Old Quebec.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Le Saint-Amour is an interesting restaurant that specializes in foie gras. We tried the Foie Gras Five Ways and were glad we had them...once! I was underwhelmed with the service. I thought it was slow and the server seemed uninterested. We waited so long for a dessert menu that we just paid and left without one. And the cost is very high. I don't think it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    185
    84
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DISPAPPOINTING!!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had eaten at this restaurant 2 years ago and it had been absolutely fabulous.

How things change... We ordered the menu "dégustation" for 150$ each with comprised of 3 appetizers, 2 mains, cheese plate. and desserts.

First: 3 tartares of fish, 2 great. one very very plain. This was folloed by a really nice presentation of foie gras. Last time, they served us 7 foie gras, now, we only had 3.
A lobster bisque was next with very little lobster meat.
The biggest disappointment came next : the fish dish: Black Cod.
The piece of cod was of about 1 ounce. Not what you would expect as a main.
The meat course that followed was well done, but I was hungry after this second main dish.

The cheese platter had 3 tiny pieces of cheese with some horrible baguette.

The desserts were wonderful though.

With wine, it turned out to be 350$ for 2 people..... and we left hungry, feeling robbed.

We will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammond, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Service good but slow,
Food lacking in taste...I almost ask for salt and pepper to improve taste

Problem with staff removing chairs, getting ready to close restaurant when peoples are still eating.

Good suggestion of wine from somelier

Not restaurant problem but guests should try to dress up, jeans not appropriate for this restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Posh restaurant in the upper Old Town”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had lunch in a large elegant dining room. Starter of terrine de foie gras at 10 dollars served with a little brioche was very good, as was the asparagus with a little cheese at 9 dollars. The main course omelette with goats cheese and asparagus at 18 dollars was only slightly overcooked and was served with a nicely presented rocket salad. The red deer main course at 30 dollars was perfect. Did not have dessert. Coffee was adequate, and the service professional and courteous, and although the waitress assumed I would want a white wine with my omelette (never!), the red wine she finally recommended - a Chinon at 15 dollars for a glass - was a good match. The sparking wine was also good at 14 dollars. Well worth a visit, despite the unseasonal surfeit of asparagus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Delicious Food, great atmosphere and reasonably priced lunch. The dinner seemed very costly. We went on our first day in Quebec and had a leisurely lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Saint-Amour also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Saint-Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing