We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy evening ambience”
Review of Le Lapin Saute

Le Lapin Saute
Ranked #34 of 1,415 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: The magic of the Petit-Champlain district adds to the charm of the Lapin Sauté. By day, this pedestrian street comes alive with the sounds of chatter. By night, the lighting makes shadows dance on the walls of the street's historic houses. Dining at the Lapin Sauté is akin to walking into a warm, quaint and cozy inns from the early 20th century. There is nothing better than sitting in the comfort of this small, friendly 32-seat restaurant where you're always welcomed with open arms. During the summer, the Lapin expands to 52 seats with its outdoor terrace and patrons flock here under the warm sun. In the winter, a fire warms your heart and soul as you discover local country products made and served like nowhere else.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

This restaurant in the evening is magical. The patio is lit and the space next to the restaurant is where musicians play. Tables are a bit close together as they are in many restaurants. It was a bit chilly and they even provided a lap blanket as we close to eat out on the patio.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,012 of 3,267 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with a very positive attitude especially after reading all the good reviews! However, I was disappointed after my visit. Reasons for disappointment: 1) the rabbit meal with puff pastery and fruit chutney had barely any rabbit meat in it!!! It was more like a thickened flavored broth covered with puff pastery! 2) the side salad with my dish was just tasteless, the dressing had no taste! 3) another member in our group also complained about his pasta dish; it was tasteless! And I could see the pasta was soaked in oil! After a few bites, I could see a pool of oil on his plate!

Neverthless, the atmosphere was very nice at a nice location in old quebec.

The verdict: I won't go back again!

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank marymT1749VK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the tasting platter, which included various rabbit dishes, and other interesting meat and accompaniments.
The restaurant is in a picturesque cobblestone street in the old town and has courtyard dining.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Mtodd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We were recommended to try this restaurant by our Tauck tour guide and were glad we tried it. Set in the picturesque old town this could be a tourist trap but wasn't. It was packed every time we went by and so we were glad that we made a reservation. The restaurant had a friendly atmosphere and efficient staff who were happy to help with the menu. As the name implies, the main ingredient is rabbit and we were both pleased with our different versions of the 'lapin'. For those who don't fancy eating Thumper, there are plenty of alternatives but the bunny is the star!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FiveStarSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here in July. Didn't book but lucked out with a table outside next to the little park - the setting is stunning. The waitresses are fantastic - the food wasn't perfect but OK.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.