We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the "tout canard, tout lapin" - really excellent”
Review of Le Lapin Saute

Le Lapin Saute
Ranked #25 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The magic of the Petit-Champlain district adds to the charm of the Lapin Sauté. By day, this pedestrian street comes alive with the sounds of chatter. By night, the lighting makes shadows dance on the walls of the street's historic houses. Dining at the Lapin Sauté is akin to walking into a warm, quaint and cozy inns from the early 20th century. There is nothing better than sitting in the comfort of this small, friendly 32-seat restaurant where you're always welcomed with open arms. During the summer, the Lapin expands to 52 seats with its outdoor terrace and patrons flock here under the warm sun. In the winter, a fire warms your heart and soul as you discover local country products made and served like nowhere else.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the "tout canard, tout lapin" - really excellent”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great sampler plate (shareable for two, with a salad or soup for each to start) of cold smoked duck breast, heavenly foie gras, leg of rabbit and leg of duck, duck sausage, rabbit rillettes (surprisingly wonderful). Lovely location, with lots happening on the rue pietons (pedestrian restricted path) outside and the garden - we got to hear an impromptu accordion serenade! Everyone is so friendly, too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,405
    775
    193
    54
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Quaint little restaurant, great food!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were drawn to this restaurant by the good reviews and cute exterior. We were seated in the lovely little outside terrace, which was very relaxing as we watched the world go by. The waitress was particularly, friendly, informative and helpful. My companion opted for the rabbit cassoulet which he greatly enjoyed. I chose the maple pork chop which I couldn't recommend highly enough. Make sure you leave space for the delicious desserts especially the crème brulee!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dilly476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch ”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing to criticise about this restaurant. It's cute as a bunny, hopping with tourists, and the staff were friendly and quick, considering the crowds both inside and on the patio. The rabbit poutine had a delicious gravy, obviously homemade, and the rabbit mac and cheese did not skimp on either cheese or rabbit. A bit expensive, but not unreasonable for the quality of food or experience

Helpful?
Thank chrispbridgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot but service needs work ”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch on the outdoor patio. Food was delicious and the wait staff was lovely but it took a long time to be seated even though tables were available - and once we were seated it took a long time to get anyone to take our order. Despite this, would definitely go back and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place is adorable! Great location with quaint outdoor seating and picture worthy décor! The food was fantastic! Definitely try the duck confit poutine!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing