We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch ”
Review of Le Lapin Saute

Le Lapin Saute
Ranked #22 of 1,437 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch ”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing to criticise about this restaurant. It's cute as a bunny, hopping with tourists, and the staff were friendly and quick, considering the crowds both inside and on the patio. The rabbit poutine had a delicious gravy, obviously homemade, and the rabbit mac and cheese did not skimp on either cheese or rabbit. A bit expensive, but not unreasonable for the quality of food or experience

Helpful?
Thank chrispbridgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,326
    735
    173
    49
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot but service needs work ”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch on the outdoor patio. Food was delicious and the wait staff was lovely but it took a long time to be seated even though tables were available - and once we were seated it took a long time to get anyone to take our order. Despite this, would definitely go back and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place is adorable! Great location with quaint outdoor seating and picture worthy décor! The food was fantastic! Definitely try the duck confit poutine!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and affordable”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Despite the very touristic location, Le Lapin Sauté, manages to produce very delicious local Quebec food. We ordered the platter for two, and it was superb. You get a bit of everything for a quite affordable price given the location and the prices in the area.

For us the main highlight was the foie gras. We never had anything that tasted so delicious, even though we even tried foie gras in Paris! I don't think you can go wrong with this place, make sure to book in advance because it's very popular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kitguyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
274 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Popular Tourist Spot”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Popular with tourists, this place churns out the rabbit like no tomorrow. Unfortunately, that means only medium quality food and relatively poor service. For example, we had a reservation but were told that we could not use our reservation to be seated in the nice outdoor area, but only in the slightly hot stuffy indoor area.

The rabbit was good, not great. The swordfish was very salty and undercooked, and somewhere between poor and terrible.

The overall service was just a notch above "diner" service, and we scrambled out quickly to find some good desert.

I would not recommend this as anything more than a novelty spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shantap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarineGRP, Responsable relations clients at Le Lapin Saute, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi, thank you for taking the time to comment your visit. We are sincerely sorry about your experience. Please take note that we never take reservations outside area. Did you mention to your server about your deception? We are taking very seriously customers comments and we want you to leave our restaurant satisfied.

We hope to see you back again.


Karine Poulin
Restos Plaisirs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lapin Saute also viewed

 

Been to Le Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing