We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be scared, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Lapin Saute

Le Lapin Saute
Ranked #23 of 1,433 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't be scared, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was a little nervous going to a place that served rabbit, but I was served one of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten. An egg poached in maple syrup? Yes please! Amazing bread, French toast and yes, even some rabbit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,303
    718
    171
    49
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahomet, Il
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My husband's choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband found this place, with some hesitation I agreed to try it. in fact it was our first lunch in QC. the food was excellent and service great. it was quaint, on a lovely little street in lower town and a very nice introduction to our first visit to QC. Just a little pricey IMO but very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PLR500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I won't say "this is the best" as many put in their reviews but it is the one that served the most tasty food that we tried. The place is small, but nice. Most dishes are based on rabbit. We had a platter to share and it was awesome. Well cooked, tasty and you could feel the taste of the rabbit and the duck.

Tis is one of the places you should try. Highly recommendable

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank neuronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, gluten free menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant has it all - perfect location, wonderful ambiance and food to die for. I am celiac and they offer a gluten free menu including bread which is a real treat.
We shared a platter for two including duck & rabbit confit, smoked duck breast, rabbit rillettes & duck foie gras accompanied by onion & carrot confit, pickles & mustard and of course cheese!
The piece de resistance was the maple creme brûlée. Do not miss this gem, just be sure to arrive hungry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happiestat30000feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Seeing the rave reviews, we decided to go to this restaurant before the dinner rush. We were given a table outdoors in a little alcove, facing the small plaza. A great place to enjoy the meal and the ambiance. The sample platter was a great choice for sharing with numerous roasted meats, including its namesake, rabbit. For our party of 7, we ordered two such platters. Really loved the accompanying chutney and local cheese. The rabbit casserole was excellent as well. Can't say enough about the wait staff. Despite the small and busy establishment, the wait staff was very patient, When we inquired about the cheese, she wrote down the name of the cheese for us, since we were not french-speaking. Would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccjenq C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing