We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rabbit Poutine”
Review of Le Lapin Saute

Le Lapin Saute
Ranked #31 of 1,659 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The magic of the Petit-Champlain district adds to the charm of the Lapin Sauté. By day, this pedestrian street comes alive with the sounds of chatter. By night, the lighting makes shadows dance on the walls of the street's historic houses. Dining at the Lapin Sauté is akin to walking into a warm, quaint and cozy inns from the early 20th century. There is nothing better than sitting in the comfort of this small, friendly 32-seat restaurant where you're always welcomed with open arms. During the summer, the Lapin expands to 52 seats with its outdoor terrace and patrons flock here under the warm sun. In the winter, a fire warms your heart and soul as you discover local country products made and served like nowhere else.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Had my first ever Poutine and I love it. It comes with cheese, gravy and shredded rabbit meat. Good portion. My friend had rabbit dish with veg and it was good size as well. Waitress was lovely and they can speak perfect English.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CChin1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,702 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lapin Saute was a wonderful find in Bas-Ville or lower Quebec City. It is delightfully decorated on both the inside and outside and the food is amazing.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoJoA0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great meal. Convenient. Love Lower Town. Some shopping makes it additionally worthwhile. Convenient to Museum due Civilization...

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank 761toms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This small but very charming restaurant definitely made my day. I won't deny at first I was a little dubious because I considered the prices to be a bit high, however it was totally worth it. The service was magnificent and the taste of everything (from salads, to salmon,to poutin, to beef and even a burger with fries) was absolutely delicious! I had a creme brûlée (made from syrup d'erables) for dessert and it was really good. The waiter even brought it with a candle and sang happy birthday to me in french. When we were about to leave it started raining a little and I became surprised when an automatized ceiling was suddenly protecting all of the people sitting on the terrace from the rain. I had an amazing birthday, I definitely recommend this place!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cristypuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

When strolling Old Quebec, stop at this quaint for a taste of real French food. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere charming. We had to have rabbit of some form and decided to share the rabbit pie. It was fabulous. Unfortunately it was raining when we visited but the restaurant has a charming courtyard for seating. The menu is small and somewhat traditional French but worth stop.

Date of visit: June 2013
2  Thank listravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lapin Saute also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Lapin Saute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing