We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must!”
Review of Le Continental

Le Continental
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Continental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,467 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Des Jardins
Description: Total EnjoymentIn the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.
Rye, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My cousin, a Canadien, had told us to go though he hadn't been in 20 years, said it was a must. And it was delightful; full of old time charm; delicious food; lovely Chilean waiter - very close to hotel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    185
    84
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinning experience.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Le Continental,
Wow what a wonderful place to take friends and family.
It has a great Old School feel to it, lots of red velvet and a very helpful and attentive staff in white jackets and bowties.
A wonderful experience of table-side service, to have a beautiful Caesar Salad prepared before your eyes and to pick your steak out and have it masterfully prepared.
And let’s not forget that delightful wine list…….
A must for the Quebec City experience.
laissez les bon temps rouler!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Cooked to Perfection”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Attended: February 16, 2014
My wife and I had dinner here on the last night of our QC long weekend. We decided to go out with a bang and save the best for last. It did not disappoint. The ambience was classy, with waiters in white jackets - who did the majority of the cooking tableside. You don't see much of that anymore.

Our waiter was great, as were the other staff. The chateaubriand for two was delicious (although they served it with an onion gravy instead of béarnaise sauce). It was fairly expensive ($175 for the meal with a glass each of wine) but I didn't mind spending the money. Only complaint was the temperature of the vegetables. They were served on the plate while the meat finished cooking and got cold. They could have adjusted the timing a bit.

Overall it was a great experience and we would certainly return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, classic yet un-inspiring food”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

There is certainly a place for this class of restaurant… excellent white coated servers, quiet conservative environ,… etc. However, the food is just classic and un-inventive. Steak, seafood, with veggies on the side. When compared to the creative talent of other local chefs (e.g.: Toast!), this can't compare. The price of this restaurant is the highest of the 4 restaurants I visited while in Quebec City…. but likely the least creative. So, to net it out,… the price exceeds the product.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Slightly overrated”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been to this restaurant a number of times over the last few years. It has a solid reputation as one of the best restaurants in Québec City. However, I have come to the conclusion that with the upscale prices charged for food and drinks, you expect consistency but don't get it.
I have already have been served a lobster bisque that was cold. Last time I was there, I ordered a mustard-sauce steak cooked medium rare but was served a well cooked steak. Sure they offered to prepare a new one but by then all the others at my table had finished their main dish.....
I don't intend to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing