We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, service and ambiance”
Review of Le Continental

Le Continental
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Continental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Des Jardins
Description: Total EnjoymentIn the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great meal, service and ambiance”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was my second visit at this well-established restaurant a few steps away from the Château Frontenac and it certainly lived up to its reputation. The maître d' made sure we had a good table in a quiet corner for our group of eleven. The service, food and ambiance were perfect.

If you're looking for a lovely, old world experience, Le Continental is an excellent choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    185
    84
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Beautiful food wonderful service romantic ambiance”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Generally I find snow crab a little watery but this was fresh delicious solid and perfectly cooked. It was the best snow crab I have ever had. It was out of shell with a lovely sauce and vegetable sides. I also had the lobster bisque which was rich and delicious. My husband had to deal with a delicious mushroom wine reduction sauce.
The service was impeccable and it was a very welcoming warm atmosphere. Ambiance is very romantic old world yet clean and crisp. We had a nice bottle of wine and I am surprised that it did not cost more. Very reasonable for the price and the wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is beautiful and traditionally elegant. Service is formal, but friendly. Food is very good. The 3 course lunch menu is a great value!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRBSFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First night and starving”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely Restuarant just a few minutes walk from Le Frontenac. Excellent menu and cocktails. Friendly service in English.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classic French restaurant”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We felt like time travelers, the restaurant having a menu from years ago. Maybe not for everyone who has to have the "latest", but flambe dishes everywhere, from duck to filet to crepes suzette, brought me back to my youth. Also great service, friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mschoenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing