We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duck L'Orange To Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Continental

Le Continental
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Continental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,433 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Des Jardins
Description: Total EnjoymentIn the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Duck L'Orange To Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was my meal at Le Continental that finally brought me to a place where I could declare a favorite food... which is Duck L'Orange at Le Continental. The End.

It's prepared table-side and the time you spend staring over into the bubbling, aromatic pot that builds a level of anticipation that's almost as palatable as the dish itself. Inevitably the rest of the restaurant orders it after they smell it. I didn't know, but apparently there's such a thing as a "saucier", to exclusively make sauces. I believe they have employed one of the finest at this establishment.

Now that I've told you the most important part (it's the Duck L'Orange... the Duck L'Orange was the most important part), I do have to say the rest of the experience was nothing short of extraordinary. We had the pleasure of actually having our Christmas Eve dinner here, so that made it extra magical. Every staff member we encountered was beyond amazing- friendly, knowledgeable, and seemed almost as excited about our meal as we were. The coat check was complimentary (which meant a lot for Quebec in December!). The decor is simple elegance. While it is fine dining pricing, you get far beyond what you pay for.

If you ever get the chance, make special time to eat here... and order the Duck L'Orange. Trust me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CostalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    171
    80
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor #1 of 684 Quebec City Restaurants... absolutely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a recent Quebec ski vacation, we visited Le Continental, across from a small auberge where we were residing... The Chateau Frontenac. We have been visiting this venue since 1990, sometimes in consecutive years, sometimes letting some years slip by. We had not been in 5 years. Have always enjoyed, but a certain "je ne sais quoi"... I really don't know what, has truly made this venue the epitomy of Fine Dining. We caught up with Sylvain, the owner... whomst takes such pride in his establishment. What a story he has to tell, starting at the bottom and rising through the ranks, to eventually purchase and become the owner of Le Continental. Our Server... Alberto, what a pleasure! Knowledgeable, professional, but fun... what a pleasure he made the dining experience! The service is simply outstanding. Formal, attentive, but low key. The food is absolutely stunning. We enjoyed the best bread this side of the pond from Paris. A spectacular Ceasar Salad, prepared fresh tableside for us by Alberto.
Absolutely delicious! Great cocktails, and a jaw dropping Chateauneuf du Pape red wine suggested by our Server Alberto complimented our meals of Veal with Foie Gras, and Duck Breast with Fig and Black Cherries! A great Profiterole for dessert! Although a tad expensive, Le Continental is half price compared to some of America's dining shrines. As a matter of fact, we don't consider it an expense at all {approx. $375 U.S., multiple courses, great wine and cocktails, dessert, tax and tip... for 3 people!!!}. We consider it an investment in great memories... till our next visit! Trip Advisor lists 684 restaurants in Quebec City, and this is the #1 venue... for outstanding reasons. If you truly appreciate fine food, treat yourself to a memorable evening here. If you've ever wondered or debated those subtle, ambiguous nuances as to what seperates an Upscale Dining establishment from a Fine Dining establishment... simply visit Le Continental, and it will be made perfectly clear...
A Sylvain, Alberto et Pierre... merci pour tous, vous etes trop gentil...!!! A la prochaine!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sno-Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
375 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Terrific Night in Old Quebec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

You should definitely come here to wrap up a terrific evening in the city.

They will treat you like a king and it is a fancy and romantic place.

The staff is extremely professional and courteous. It is somewhat pricey but really not considering the quality.

They will cook some of the "Flame" dishes right in front of you.

Best food I've eaten here so far!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The filet mignon cooked table side was fabulous, healthy portion and perfectly cooked. The service was impressive, formal and old-school. Classy decor. All around great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment you walk into this restaurant it is an experience..coat check, the service, food and atmosphere is amazing. It's one of these meals you never want to end and when it is time to go --you are happy for the people just sitting down that they get to have this experience.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fainting_goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
 

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing