We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Le Continental

Le Continental
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Continental is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,442 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Des Jardins
Description: Total EnjoymentIn the gourmet world of Le Continental, traditional cuisine is classical. Enjoy the perfect service, the great flambéed dishes that pay tribute to the delicious French cuisine. The Continental's wine cellar is most impressive with its board of famous selection of French, Italian and American wines. It offers a choice of more than five thousand bottles, four hundred different varieties from Grands Crus classés to affordable prices.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Coming from Toronto, dinning culture is a way of life. Sadly this style of service has become something of an endangered species. It is wonderful to experience food prepared at your table by a competent and professional server. The french style of service is steeped in tradition with an emphasis on the guest experience. We requested the same server as we had the year before (Vincent) and we're not disappointed. We are even considering the private room for our wedding rehearsal dinner in 2014.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Topparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    175
    82
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food, classic old style french restaurant”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently went with my wife while we were in Quebec, and while the food was excellent, there were a couple things we would have preferred. The biggest complaint was that the flavor on both my filet mignon and my wifes rack of lamb was overwhelming from the sage & rosemary - it could have used a good amount less of both herbs. And our escargot, while delicious, came with one empty shell! We didn't notice it right away, and figured after eating all but 1 other, it would be suspect to send it back. Oh well.
Other than that, the service was excellent, the tableside flambe was entertaining and fun to watch. My filet was cooked perfectly, despite me being convinced that our waiter was overcooking it in the flambe pot.
And the creme brulee was awesome for dessert!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
697 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Classic old style restaurant”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to this with two 17 year olds. I'm 57. This is what "great" restaurants were like back in the 60's...flambes, table side caesar salads....classic drinks, expensive wines, filet mignon, chops....but it was terrific and worth it. For the kids it was a living museum. They were rapt. We've been around - French Laundry, White Barn in Maine, Scholteshof in Belgium, Emerils, Commanders Palace, Post Rio in SF....and this place was fun and worth it. Very attentive white clad waiters. Flambe's all over the place. Expensive. We had Shrimp scampi and Langoustines Newburg, veal chop.....everything was fresh, immaculately prepared. VERY good Caesar, vegetables were perfect, bread perfect....a little fast...they turn over the tables relatively quickly but we didn't feel rushed and dinner took about 2h. Desserts and coffee excellent. Could you get better food at a lower price? maybe. But this was a total classic restaurant experience, right down to the coat check, the host helping you off with your coat, solicitous and friendly wait staff, water glasses refilled immediately....if you've never been, esp. if you are a Genx'r or y'r...this might not be an experience you've had or will be able to have in the new world of "Hi, I'm TIffany, I'm your server.....today's special is a reduction of quinoa and arugula with nasturtium blossoms, yak bile, in a laissez faire sauce of green chile and tofu....". Not that I have anything against that....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This establishment deserves the #1 spot by far ! While it may be "old school" the steak was PERFECT ! Tableside service is worth it ! And a not tableside dish, the salmon, was exquisite as well ! The service was excellent yet subdued. We'll be back next time !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toronto23frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing old school steak”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There's a reason why this place is number 1. The meal was the best we had in Quebec and this restaurant is also one of the oldest in Quebec City. Caesar salad is prepared table side made traditionally from egg yolk, vinegar, anchovies, and garlic. My girlfriend loved her lamb and I loved my steak, flambed in mustard. What a prefect treat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing