We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Le Cavour

Le Cavour
Ranked #337 of 1,442 Restaurants in Quebec City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Kenner
Level Contributor
176 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm so glad I didn't read the reviews here or I may have missed this delicious dinner. I was just wandering the street looking at different places and this one drew my attention. I had the lobster bisque which was some of the best I've ever had. Then the Filet Mignon de Porc en Croûte (pork fillet in a pastry crust) with tasty carrots and potatoes. The meat was juicy, crust crusty - and everything seasoned perfectly. For dessert raspberry-chocolate cake. Perfect! Waiter was always around, but not overbearing. Cost - less than $60

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    33
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, why the bad reviews?”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went there and my wife and I had a great meal for $85. Great salad, good service, Beefeaters on the rocks only $6. Good French cooking. Guys across got the lobster and it was big and looked great. I had the seafood platter (lots of variet, ample serving) and my wife had the chicken. We are going back tonight. Maybe these guys had a "come to Jesus" meeting but they certainly have their act together now!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LarryK541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice building, terrible food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had dinner at this restaurant. We were attracted by the price of the buffet, that is not high. The problem is that the quality is also low. I had not a very high bar, but the best thing was the salad bar!

Waiters ok until they followed me on my way out reminding me I should leave them a tip ... They should figure out why customers do not leave it.

The location is actually very nice ... Maybe good for a drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst meal of the year”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We also made the mistake of ordering the lobster special, which was distinguished by being especially disgusting. The chicken parmigiano had all the flavor pounded out of it. Dinner for four cost $150 which included a half-carafe of sad white wine. I'm sure Quebec City has some marvelous restaurants but this is definitely not one of them. One star for the woman who kept our water glasses filled, but she would have done us a bigger favor if she'd pelted us with the tasteless bread rolls when we walked in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainsville, On
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

They advertised their " Lobster Special "...at $ 29.95 for a 1-1/4 lb lobster ( 600 gr) -
what we got was a 3/4 lb lobster and it was not even fresh...
My wife ordered the salmon plate, she got 2 salmon tidbits, just enough to feed a cat...
This restaurant just want your money and you won't get much in return as far as quantity,
quality and on top of that the waiters will expedite you - they just don't care.
We were very disappointed with that restaurant, and will not recommend it to nobody.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cavour also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing