We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
Review of Le Cavour

Le Cavour
Ranked #321 of 1,434 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We happened across this place while in search for pâté and/or carpaccio. It was around 4 pm so we were well before the dinner crowd. The servers and host were very friendly and the place had the rustic charm of a French countryside inn. We promptly ordered drinks (comparably priced) and appetizers. The drinks were well prepared (Manhattan) and the pâté and carpaccio delicious.

We had intended to stop at this point to save room for another restaurant, but the ambiance was nice, food good, so we ordered what I will call pork Wellington. In a word, fantastic! Another round of drinks and it was time to consider dessert (so much for going somewhere else). We ordered crepe Suzette, which is basically a crepe flambé with triple sec, orange juice, crepes, and fresh fruit prepared table-side, also phenomenal!

I'm sure there are cheaper places, but we found the quality of the food and the friendly service to be well worth the price ( for those interested the appetizers we ordered were 10-13, the main dish mid 20s, and dessert for 2, low 20s)

We would happily return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiddleClassTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    32
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

it was a very good meal for the price. We wondered the streets, checking the menus in different restaurants before stopping here - it was great!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“You can do better”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stopped in for a casual lunch after a busy morning of sightseeing. Food not terrible, just adequate and overpriced. I sat upstairs and though the room was half- empty I was directed to a tiny table and my request for another location was met with a shrug and a "non." Onion soup, one soft drink, and a Caesar salad were $30. Location must keep this place going.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elainesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent meal at reasonable price in an expensive area”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My food was good, I had the coq au vin. Others I dined with had checken breast but found it dry. Caesar salad was regular shredded lettuce with store based caesar dressing. The parsean fondue was a cube breaded in a bland coating, deep friend. At first the waiter was confused and bit annoyed we hadn't decided right away. But he became friendlier as time went on and he and his co-waiter gave good service. Given this street has a number of expensive places, this was a good option at a more reasonable price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaasha5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great food, good atmosphere, tight seating though. Decor is funky, no bare spots on walls anywhere. Accordian music takes you back to Italy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Koh-Samui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cavour also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing