We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific atmosphere, cozy, vibrant, local feel.”

Le Clocher Penche Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Caron
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific atmosphere, cozy, vibrant, local feel.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a great dinner here on first night in Quebec last night. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Menus were available in English and French and our waiter spoke both as well. Food was beautifully presented, the choices were interesting and fresh. Place is fit for a foodie looking for something fun or for the slightly adventurous looking for something approachable. Not a burger joint - and shouldn't be. We had the tuna appetizer and the fresh cheese with watermelon and prosciutto appetizer, both were delicious. Had the special beef - braised shoulder - well done and very favorful. Also had the vegetable plate, healthy but indulgent enough and nicely presented and prepared, very good. Dessert was a warming apple pastry, perfect for the season -and a bowl of cafe au lait. Wines by the glass were good, though I did not recognize any on the list - which was kind of fun. Wait staff all know the wines and can recommend well and offer tastes. Would highly recommend this fun bistro. Not quiet and romantic, but congenial and vibrant and local flavor. Bubbly and relaxing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    142
    34
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Many consider it the best food in Quebec - but a disappointment”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went with high expectations based on extensive reviews. First it was a rather small bistro, located in a somewhat seedy part of the city. Upon entering, we found the layout crowded, giving a feeling of being cramped and close, even though it was less than half full. The one waiter was knowledgeable about the menu, but must have been hard of hearing because he spoke with an uncomfortably loud voice. Food was cooked in an open kitchen which occupied close to a quarter of the floor space. The salmon tartare (a popular item on Quebec menus) was good, but I cannot fairly evaluate the blood sausage which was supposedly the specialty of the house because it was not to my personal liking. And the dinner was not inexpensive....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a feast for the eyes and soul!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Right people take note and mark this one on your places to go list... Seriously!
Le Cafe du Clocher Penche
203 St-Joseph E, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada.

First of all just so everyone knows, this was my first visit to this wonderful establishment and it was the reception venue for my wedding day to my beautiful Laurie. Therefore it was a pretty tremendous and joyful day of which Cloche Penche added what can only be described as a certain ‘je ne sais quoi’ to the whole proceedings of the day.

The space is a pleasure to be seated in with an open, inviting and uncluttered style all of its own.

The service was very good, the waiting staff were attentive and switched on in respect of any questions they faced from our guests. As to the standard of food it was truly above and beyond all expectations from such a confined space that was a super functioning kitchen! You can see the guys working in the open plan kitchen and they carry out their duties with a balance of style and precision.

Starter of rabbit was my order day followed with a main of beef then with a fromage blanc following not far behind. So to dissect… Simply, I cannot fault any part of the meal, apart from my glutinous side maybe wanting more! And it is not often that I can say that a meal has left me with out the slightest of issues or niggles as to something that could have done with just a little something else.

Finally, I would like to say a Massive Thank You!!! To all the members of the Cloche Penche team for an indescribably superb experience.

With my love

P x.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1981Paolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best wedding venue ever!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was part of the large wedding venue as badly reviewed by supermario from September 28th. I could not disagree more with what this person said.

First of all, this is by far one of the best restaurants I ever have been to and I've been around. Clearly a top contender in Quebec city, a city which has a ridiculous ratio of restaurants per inhabitant. The quality of the food is exceptional, the menus creative and ever-changing, the ambiance is warm and welcoming of anyone at any age. I am a regular there and there are always as many pushchairs as heads of white hair. The staff is very knowledgeable and well-mannered and they really do care about you and your experience.

The only downfall (if you can even call it that), is that the kitchen is tiny. It really is, I mean, you can see it when you come in. It's almost a one-man show and you have to appreciate all the hard work and effort that goes into these meals. If you have never worked in the restaurant business, it is hard to appreciate how difficult it is to get 3 services out to a table of 45. It takes forever. Everything is prepared with care and to perfection. You have to come in knowing that it might take you more than an hour to eat.

I know for a fact it did not take 3 hours for them to get a meal as I was right next to them. They got their entree at the same time we did. The restaurant was jam-packed. It took a long time for the whole group to arrive, and obviously, you can only take orders when everybody is sat down. I feel like this person was unfair and careless in their review. Obviously, everyone is entitled to their opinion but I don't believe they were in the right frame of mind to enjoy the amazing experience Clocher Penché has to offer. This place is designed to sit back, relax and enjoy a glass of something while having a good chat, in good company. If you are not accustomed to doing such things, then perhaps this restaurant is not for you.

You can't please everyone unfortunately but this wedding reception was truly a success and Thomas and his crew did an outstanding job. Well done and see you again soon, you guys are amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsa-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very popular local restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Reservations recommended. We had a reservation for 1:00 and arrived ten minutes early but weren't seated until 1:00 despite seats being open. A little off putting but they did have a large group come in at 2:00 so I suppose they were saving tables for them. This is a very busy local restaurant because the food is fresh and very good. We had a brunch today and enjoyed our meal. The service is quick and not unfriendly. We received a little pre-meal surprise taste of honey, jam, and cheese froth! Mmmm. The coffee latte come with the meal and is served in a bowl! Very good. Loud, neighborhoody joint!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonypose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clocher Penche Restaurant also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Clocher Penche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing