We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly outstanding dining experience... great food, service”

Le Clocher Penche Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 1,452 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Caron
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“A truly outstanding dining experience... great food, service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Appetizers in the $7-12 range.. most $9; entrees around $21 to $26; desserts around $9; wine $45 and up.
Limited menu...but quite amazing! We had two couples.. one American, the other Canadian (Ontario) visiting.. but also celebrating Anniversaries....we had the duck, stuffed poultry, and angus beef. appetizers were asparagus soup, lobster bisque. Dessert was easy... the banana with chocolate ganauche, etc.... Bottomline, everything was outstanding. Our server was Patrick (ask for him). He was as professional as any in restaurants 2-3X more expensive. This venue is very comfortable.. another reviewer called it "understated".
When selecting a bottle of wine.. our server suggested he bring a sample or two from a couple bottles he had open... this was of great value. After we selected our wine... I had narrowed my entrée selection to 2-3 items and Patrick was great to "pair" our wine to the entrée. This is a great place and a very good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    139
    33
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really nice bistro!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a really nice, understated local neighborhood bistro in the up-and-coming Saint Roch neighborhood.
What is really nice about it is the local vibe. It is not touristy like the restaurants in the old city.
The food was great:
The housemade fresh cheese was very refreshing and nice.
The salmon tartare, the signature dish for Quebec City, was very nice.
The dessert was mindblowingly good - caramelized bananas, banana mousse, dark chocolate ganache, and popcorn with caramel!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IstanbuliteinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clyde, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious bistro”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great restaurant in a vibrant new neighborhood. The salmon tartare was one of the best I have ever had and the veggies accompanying were local and fresh. My friend had skate and scallops cooked perfectly. Good wine selection by the glass completed a truly delicious meal in a warm and lively atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Food was quite good but service was very poor. Had a reservation for 8pm, and was sat within 5 minutes of arrival. Ordered appetizer and main course plus wine. Waiter served wine and we never saw him again except after food was delivered by someone else, came back to ask if all is fine. Never made an effort to pour wine during the dinner, never offered dessert menu, we asked and came back with the dessert menu and that was last we saw of him. After half an hour from getting dessert menu, we asked for bill, got up and paid at the bar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rod a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted in a brunch!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had brunch here today and it was fabulous. The restaurant seems to be located in an old bank, with the washrooms in the former vault. The whole place is bright and sunny and inviting. The building had a really great vibe, and we thought the food was outstanding.

We made reservations online and that went without a hitch. The place was just getting going when we showed up at 9 am, but by the time, we left, it was packed. The servers were warm, friendly and efficient. Lots of smiles all around.

I had an excellent chocolat chaud in a bowl, and hubby had a great cafe latte. We were also given a little "appetizer", a sort of parfait with yogurt, granola, honey and banana. Yum!

For my meal, I chose "L'oeuf charistie", a brick of a frittata wrapped in a crispy pastry sheet, with mushrooms duxelles, herbs and Gré cheese, served with a generous and yummy portion of ratatouille and a mesclun side salad. It was exceedingly delicious and satisfying! Very artfully arranged on the plate, too.

My hubby had "La première communion", which comprised three thick bricks of French toast served on a bed of vanilla crème fraîche, with fruits and whipped cream, and a shot glass of maple syrup on the side. I had a bite and it was divine. A step above your usual French toast, in my opinion.

Our experience was entirely positive and I wouldn't hesitate to go back on our next visit to Quebec City.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caberwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clocher Penche Restaurant also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Clocher Penche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing