We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous in every way”
Review of Le Bistango

Le Bistango
Ranked #104 of 1,468 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous in every way”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good in each category, service, presentation, quality of foods, a high note EXCELLENT to the attention the kitchen staff finish each plate visually inspecting the layout of their plates on different angles, making doubly sure to make it right. Hot and cold plates where needed, clean utensils with no water spots, linen napkins that where soft and clean, glassware was spotless.

Great table d'Hote, very good value. $$$$ out of 10.

Atmosphere is classy but pleasant, background music is well balanced and played at a low volume, jazzy, tango styles.

The servers where real pros in every way, very attentive to their respective tables. PROS.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    58
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A favorite place for many locals when trekking to the Old City is impractical”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Quebec in the western part of the city for 20 years. Bistango is by far the preferred place for business lunches and dinners. You can have a private salon that is very good for a working lunch; the atmosphere in these salons is much less jazzy than in the main dining area. Lunches are a great value at about 25$ and supper is closer to the 40-60$ range (without alcohol). Honestly, this is my "go to" place, and I am sure that many colleagues would agree. We have never been disappointed and our guests are always impressed. Valet parking is easiest, if it is a busy time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spzjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On business in Quebec City, my colleagues took me to this restaurant in Sainte Foy, which is the least interesting or fashionable part of the City. As a result I was quite stunned by the quality of the food. Absolutely spectacularly tasty. One of those truely memorable meals. I was having a lot of fun catching up with my colleagues and normally in those situations I don't really notice the food but my halibut on bed of pureed finocchio and green beans was really spectacular. Bravo bravo to the chef. Shared desert chocolate cake less memorable but I'm not a desert person. The decor is cool modern (with perhaps too predictable a sound track but it was pleasant e.g. Feist) and I imagine the bill was quite steep but I was not paying. A minor point the waitress was almost too bubbly when juxtaposed with the serious matter of extraordinary food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenataOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just ok...”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice atmosphere and jazzy-louge music.
The soup was not really tasty- just a blend of whatever vegetable leftovers they had it seems.
Service was all right, but not particularly warm or friendly.
Great but expensive deserts.
For the same price range I prefer Il matto or Sirroco Café restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank food_is_nice160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After a long day at the office, this place was great. Service was top notch and food was great! I had the Salmon and couldn't stop eating :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistango also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Bistango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing