We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A life experience in Quebec City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant La Taniere - CLOSED

Restaurant La Taniere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $77 - $138
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rang St-Denis
Description: C'est une cuisine ou se rencontrent le savoir-faire traditionnel et l'innovation contemporaine. On fait appel a tous vos sens afin que l'experience gastronomique soit des plus surprenante et memorable. Le respect et l'inspiration des produits locaux quebecois de qualite permettent de decouvrir une cuisine originale de terroir qui innove tout en introduisant les produits exceptionnels que le monde peut nous offrir. Les toutes nouvelles techniques culinaires s'immiscent au ceour des plats de gibiers qui ont fait notre reputation, mais egalement au sein des plats de la mer et des bouchees gourmandes de la fin. Tout en se soucient de l'impact ecologique des choix de produits offerts, on a developpe differentes formules de menu degustation a multiples services ou vos papilles en auront plein la bouche. Passe maitre dans l'art du souci du detail, une equipe accueillante et professionnelle vous fera vibrer a l'unisson avec le terme gastronomie.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A life experience in Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My spouse and I had the 15 course menu with the wine pairing. Upon arrival the staff greeted us at the door, escorted us to our lovely table where place cards with my sir name affixed to the table napkins. Within minutes of sitting down we started the meal. It is my understanding that there is no fixed menu, so to provide a listing of the presentations would not promising anything for the future. Every selection was a complex comprehensive assortment of items, full of flavor and fresh. Each serving comes with the hostess' explanation of the presentation and the wine.

Recommendation - plan ahead if you are coming to Quebec City so to add this restaurant to your schedule. The cab ride from QC proper was 30 min = $50(US) cab ride. The cabby needed the phone number to find the restaurant. The restaurant to call the cab back for you at the conclusion of the meal.

Overall - Fantastic meal that my spouse and I will remember forever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey74ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Gérant at Restaurant La Taniere, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    14
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It taste like heaven !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

You think that an upscale restaurant like that will look at you differently if you dont wear a tie for my husband or highhill for me... Well NO ! My husband was wearing jeans and I had a casual dress, nothing overdress and they still gave us a 5 stars services and attitude fit for kings and queens ! We felt perfectly welcome ! The food, was amazing, it really tasted like heaven ! We had the 10 courses meal (and it was plenty for us !!!) and at a certain point we lost count of the courses and we asked where we were and the VERY NICE host told us that she was glad that we lost count, it meant that we were appreciated everything and she also told us that she wasn't allowed to tell us at witch course we were. We loved being lost in that food orgy ! At the end they gave us the menu we ate with the wine and a little surprise for your morning breakfast, nothing to forget them... We will remember !!! We will go back !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia_555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G, Manager at Restaurant La Taniere, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you very much. We are glad that it was to your satisfaction. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exception service and a delightful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant La Taniere was truly a remarkable experience. The setting is quaint and warm. From the moment you walk in the service is beyond welcoming. Truly a feeling of being at a good friends house for dinner. The wait staff is attentive and helpful, they take the time to explain each dish and answer any and all questions that come up. The service is impeccable with every detail scrutinized and perfected. Of course you come to a restaurant like this for the food, and we were just as impressed with the food as we were the service. We chose the 15 course meal (it is a lot of food and try as we might were unable to finish the last course). The food represents the local and traditional cuisine of the Quebec City area and touches on the history of cooking in that region. Modern techniques were used with a number if dishes finding inspiration in molecular cooking methods. The food was delicate, inspired and full flavoured. This was a great dinning experience and you can appreciate the hard work that goes in to all aspects of this restaurant to have earned and keep its five star rating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan_lamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec City
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had the 15 course meal for a Christmas supper and tasted such delectable products! The creations of the chef are exceptional! The taste!! Everything tastes so good! The wines were chosen perfectly to fit with what we were eating. One must try this eating experience! Eating there is not only having a perfect meal, it's having a wonderful experience! The ambiance is perfect and the staff so efficient and proper, in a relaxed atmosphere. I appreciated discovering and tasting different local products. All in all, a must when in Quebec City!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen t, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Taniere, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Hope to see you next christmas !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing courses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We decided to try the 15 course meal paired with the wine. The food was exceptional and well presented. You only get a small amount, but that is more than enough once you put all the courses together. I found myself eating food that I would never of tried. Service was outstanding, there was enough time in between each course to allow you to digest and discuss the course. Perfect timing for the next course to be served.
I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking to experience different food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dab101238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen t, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Taniere, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at La Taniere and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Taniere also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing