We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre, at best, says it all”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Petite Italie - CLOSED

La Petite Italie
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Mediocre, at best, says it all”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was staying down the street, and wanted a casual and convenient dinner on my last night. This was a mistake. The food was acceptable, I guess, but the service was painfully slow, even while the restaurant was half-empty. There seemed to be only two wait staff, and one cook in the kitchen (I had a view of the kitchen) and the chef couldn't seem to get his act together. The waiter and waitress, who also had to bartend as well as bus the tables, kept revisiting the kitchen to inquire after after everyone's food. I'd waited so long for my salad that I watched my waiter finally go into the kitchen and put the pre-mixed salad on the plate himself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elainesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    17
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers Landing, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Le Petite Italie”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I did not eat at La Petite Italie, but the sister cafe situated next door "La Cantina." The service was leisurely, but I like to eat at my leisure. I do not wish to "grab a McDonald's!" The decor is contemporary and very attractive. I had the Burger L'Italien - which was really a Burger Chicken Parmesan, served with either a garden salad or french fries (pomme frites.) At $13.95 it was an excellent lunch, served piping hot, and cooked to order. The server was a very pleasant young woman. I will definitely return here, and I would recommend La Cantina for a reasonably priced lunch or dinner in Old Quebec City.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbelle10701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went for dinner and had their 3 pastas meal with appetizer, hot tea/coffee and dessert for about $20. The service was great (it is slower than in the United States, but I like a relaxing meal). The cream of tomato soup was fantastic. The three pastas were all distinct and very flavorfull. The chocolate cake was the best dessert I had on my whole vacation. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestTraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“confused about the other reviews, the food was excellent”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I ate here for dinner midweek in September, the restaurant was not packed but busy. There were 2 waiters- and we found that the service was excellent. Our waiter had at least 8 tables, but still found time to fill my wine glass for me each time it was low. He remembered which patrons spoke French & who spoke English. The food was excellent. I had tortellini with the best rose sauce I've had in years and my boyfriend had a baked seafood dish. The portions were huge and the food was very fresh. His came with veggies on the side, and they were cooked perfectly, not overcooked the way many restaurants cook vegetables, still a little bit crispy. We also had a chocolate cake for dessert, which was also delicious. It was a dark chocolate and not overly sweet. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who visits Quebec.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenFerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service, bad food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I went here for lunch and was really disappointed. Service was incredibly slow with two waiters and too many clients, obviously. The place was full of smoke. My pepperoni pizza had a half cm of cheese on top. First I thought they brought me the wrong dish, but it had pepperoni below the cheese. I felt like I carried a stone in my stomach for the rest of the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorhternStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Italie also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing