We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice Italian restaurant”
Review of Ciccio Cafe

Ciccio Cafe
Ranked #70 of 1,437 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Holliston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice Italian restaurant”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We walked here from our hotel and had a very nice meal with wine and a pleasant atmosphere. This is a nice alternative (and less expensive) than the restaurants in the main part of the city. Our waiter was very attentive but not obtrusive. Soft music playing in the background. Food was superbly prepared.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyM163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    49
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a nice pasta dinner with kids”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I went to Ciccio's on a rainy Friday evening in August 2012 with a party of 7 including 3 kids aged 7, 5 and 2 years of age.

The restaurant is just down the hill on Rue Claire-Fontaine from the National Theatre of Quebec, just off of Boul. Rene-Levesque. It's a steep hill but we managed to park on the street across from the restaurant.

We opted for salads all around and past dishes which were all delicious in an unadventurous way. I can recommend the Penne Puttanesca as perfectly good if not remarkable. Pasta with smoked salmon was also perfectly good if not spectacular.

Staff were accommodating of our impatient kids.

Salad with pine nuts and blue cheese was nice.

Arriving at 6:30pm on a rainy Friday I. August we had no problem sitting immediately despite large group.

We ordered two liter-sized bottles of house red wine, one dessert and three coffees in addition to four pasta dishes and two "small portion" pasta dishes for our kids and four salads; these came to total of CAD 185 including taxes but excluding tip.

This was a perfectly fine dinner out for the family if not particularly remarkable. We'd go again for "comfort food" or with kids.

Note that none of us tried the meat or seafood dishes, nor did we order the table d'hote menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“a short walk to good food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

this reastaurant is a1 km walk from our hotel, the Marriot in Quebec City. The walk is through a nice area of town, not so touristy. you get the feeling that you are where the locals live, shop and work. We were rewarded with a great Italian meal. The salads were very good as was the pasta.We had the chefbchoice duo, the tomato cream and the plum tomato and basil pasta. Everyone was pleasedmwith their choice, and thenbill was about $100.00 for 4 people with a bottle ofmgood Italian wine included in that total. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Give yourself a treat”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This outstanding restaurant is a few blocks off the Grande Allée, but this allows for a relaxed dining experience. The food was by far the best we had in Québec, a city with many fine restaurants. The menu choices were creative and expertly prepared. The seafood cooked to perfection, excellent wine choices and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful dining!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We wish we had another night to dine here. after some disappointing meals we came upon positive reviews on trip advisor. We are so glad we chose Ciccio cafe. Hidden away, a perfect gem. Don't miss it. The table d' hote was an absolute bargain. The food was prepared to perfection, and with loving care. My main corse was shrimp and scallops in a pronvencale sauce with wonderful vegetables! My husband said he has not had veal like this in years. The desserts were beautiful and sinful. Very nice service and ambiance. Cannot say enough good things. Hope you are lucky enough to dine here. Definitely for any price, but wonderful value,

Helpful?
1 Thank canwegonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciccio Cafe also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Ciccio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing