We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Dinner in Quebec City”
Review of Cafe St-Malo

Cafe St-Malo
Ranked #28 of 1,442 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great First Dinner in Quebec City”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a delicious pot of mussels with frittes, a salad with garlic dressing and brie and fruit. This was a memorable first night in the beautiful city of Quebec!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank teriwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    175
    40
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Decent Lunch in Lower Town (Basse-Ville)”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Café Saint-Malo was located in Lower Town (Basse-Ville) on an antique-store lined street. It was a small establishment that was artfully crammed with small antiques and artwork, including several paintings that were set into the ceiling. The obligatory exposed stone and brick wall gave it an informal, rustic feel.

We randomly chose this spot for lunch, and were pleased with the outcome. A sliced baguette was served which included a few toasted slices. A hearty, beef based fish soup arrived piping hot and with mussels spilling over the edge of the bowl. It immediately offset the cold, raw weather. My steak-frites was perfectly done: pink (á point) and with grill marks on its surface. The meat was a generous portion, and was quite tender. It was accompanied by delicious frites with homemade mayonnaise. The Dijon mustard effectively cleared out my sinuses. A green salad lent a nice balance to the meal. The cheese omelet entrée was light, fluffy, and flavourful, and came with a side of frites and a green salad. A shared dessert and two coffees completed the meal. The total was $34 plus tip for a very satisfying lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Wow! This place is exactly what you are looking for in historic Quebec. Cozy, quaint, one server and one cook do it all. Family owned gem caters to quiet conversation and romantic encounters. Go hungry, go when it's cold and sit by the fire and enjoy a hot cup of the soup of the day. If you enjoy mussels with a strong white wine flavor you will love this dish but be aware the portion is enough to feed two large men comfortably. The blood sausage, a 100 year old recipe, is full of flavor but slightly mushy. I say it is a MUST try. The horse steak is 99% meat and 1% fat very tender and healthy. Try this dish medium rare, any more cooked maybe too chewy. The greens and fruits were extremely fresh even in the dead of winter. If we ever return to Quebec we would without a doubt return to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JameyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Classic French Cuisine”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a lovely cassoulet here and enjoyed the intimacy of the setting. You need to book at busy times as people were being sent away without a reservation as there aren't many tables.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ateamgoestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lacks appropriate Staff”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited Cafe St.-Malo Thursday nite. Based on the reviews, I made a reservation prior to leaving home. Unfortunately, I am sorry I did. I chose the eggplant entree. The portion was very small. I had a salad as my appetizer. The eggplant was only served with additional salad on a hot plate. Since I already had a salad, the warm salad was very un-appealing and repetitive. I would have liked to order dessert but there was only one server there on Thursday. She sat the customers, gave out the menus, took the orders, bartended, answered the phone, cleaned and re-set the tables. Since it was crowded, she was overworked and the customers lacked the attention they required. We sat there forever just waiting for her return and I feared if I wanted dessert, I would have been there all night. The owner needs to hire additional help. Too bad because the food & atmosphere was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe St-Malo also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Cafe St-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing