We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned, tasty food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Anciens Canadiens

Aux Anciens Canadiens
Ranked #30 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $59
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had read about this restaurant on trip advisor but we ended up there by accident, and without a reservation. Although it was 1:30 the place was packed and we waited about 10 minutes before lucking out with a window side table for two. The old house was quaint with it's low ceilings and interesting decor and the aroma of cooking food was great. We both got the tortiere and maple syrup pie and both were delish. Pastry was like momma made! I should add that neither of us was really hungry when we walked in but there was no question that we finish our portions. They were too good to leave on the plate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,147
    769
    250
    97
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
““MM-MM, MM-MM BON!””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

IIf you’re looking for authentic Quebecois cuisine, you will find it at Restaurant aux Anciens Canadiens where you will dine in the ambiance of a rustic ancestral home which was built in 1675. Their extensive menu offers regional specialties such as their famous pea soup, meat pies, fruit ketchup….which is a mixture of tomatoes, celery, green pepper, onions, vinegar, sugar, cinnamon & pickling spices and served cold as a side dish.. and, for dessert, maple syrup pie. It is situated on a main street in the heart of Quebec City and is well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westie8213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pretty decor, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Pretty inside, felt very traditionally "Quebec". If you like game dishes, you will love I there. I don't (!) but had a lovely chicken Supreme in a delicious flaky pastry. My husband had a bison pie which he said was just wonderful. The mixed salad was fabulous and the soup of the day honey turnip was really good. Great desserts. Good wine list. A bit noisy, and I think a bit short staffed as the servers were very busy and you had to wait a bit, but they were friendly. I would recommend especially if you like or want to try game dishes (deer, bison, elk, etc.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TekkieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS TREAT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

All around excellence. Can be quite pricey; however, lunch is served from 12 noon to 5 pm.
I would suggest there $20 special - inc. soup, entree, wine, and dessert. If you enjoy authentic
Quebec City, you must have this on your to do list. Their elk,stag,deer tortiere is delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raindrop2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here. It is a very charming looking place with pleasant staff. We each had a different soup and all I can say is avoid this place. I would question if soup was homemade.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarineAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Anciens Canadiens also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Aux Anciens Canadiens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing