We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BAD SERVICE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pub Saint-Alexandre

Pub Saint-Alexandre
Ranked #105 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The restaurant has a person outside the entrance drawing people into the restaurant. Once inside, we were treated like cattle with a smile. After a wait to be seated, we waited again for a server. I finished my pre-dinner soft drink and a waitress rushed by and took my empty glass and I never got a refill. All of the staff seemed overwhelmed, the time to order seemed rushed and we had another long wait for our meal. When it arrived, the person quickly placed the plates on our table and was off running. It took forever to get someone to deliver drink refills and ketchup for our fries. Instead of a relaxing meal, the experience made us feel stressed. Food prices are touristy high. Terrible experience and we do not recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    270
    136
    65
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great area to have some food and drink. Some of the staff were not the friendliest, but all in all a good place to go!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brit Pub in Old Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great music - loved the sausage platter with the sauerkraut cooked for 12 + hours in beer - Excellent place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The pub was busy but not jammed packed, it looked inviting, and only had to wait a few minutes for a seat.

I didn't pay close attention to pricing as I was tired and hungry.

Waited a long time for my beer, there was a great selection but ended up with something familiar, a Heineken pint, at $9.95!

Not feeling adventuresome, I ordered a cheeseburger, had them add bacon. It was delivered quite quickly after waiting for quite a while to order it, my server was Hubert M.

The burger, at $15.95 was good, not great, my add of bacon was $2.95 for 3 strips of bacon, which in my hometown would buy a 2/3 pound.

The total bill for a burger and a beer was $31! At half that price I would consider it reasonable.

I realize Quebec city is a tourist town, but the next morning had a fantastic breakfast just up the street at a very reasonable price with fantastic service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Beer Selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a day of shopping, the Pub was located next to some favourite stores and also timely for supper and refuge from the rain. We were attracted by the Pub atmosphere and live music, and then lucked-in with a table (70) on the second level overlooking the musicians and first floor with bar. There is a reasonable selection of foreign and domestic beers and our waitress was well-versed in assisting in making a decision. My companion chose a sangria that arrived in an interesting layering of colours before mixing. The appetizer of breaded calamari was a good choice with tasty dipping sauce. With the foreign beer, I ordered fish & chips, but was disappointed in only one breaded fillet that was overcooked and dry, especially at $19.95. My companion's smoked meat plate with fries was tasty, but also not a bargain at $17.95. This was a good place to take a break from shopping and the rain, while enjoying a drink, appetizer and listening to live music, but you might be disappointed in the main meals and prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pub Saint-Alexandre also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Pub Saint-Alexandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing