We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gandalf would be delighted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Le Hobbit

Cafe Le Hobbit
Ranked #27 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gandalf would be delighted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to le Hobbit. We went on a Friday evening and there was a full house. Food and service very good. Budget for $100 for two.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5leggedspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    286
    59
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had our first meal in Quebec City here, on the recommendation of a friend. My husband had trout tartare, and I had scallops - both delicious. We both had the steak with blueberry sauce for our main meal. The steak was just slightly charred on the edges, which went very well with the slightly sweet sauce. Our waiter was also the sommelier, and he made some excellent suggestions to pair with our food. We shared dessert - almost no room - along with some wine made from maple sap (unique, and matched with our chocolate caramel mousse cake).
Only small downside was that the table was very close to the one beside ours, but given that they fit us in without a reservation, I can't complain too much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myrddrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bit like a hobbit hole. The outside doesn't do justice to the inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food, nice coffee and a lovely atmosphere. Highly recommend the fish! Fantastic service and a very pleasant meal. Good sized portions too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vickyhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had been on the road all day and walked a very long distance to Vieux Quebec to find a good restaurant. We were pretty much lost and finally just picked a restaurant after staring at menus written in French. We decided to take a chance on this one and did not even look at its name. It turns out it was one that was just suggested to us by our B & B proprietor. Dumb luck but good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sctraveller058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was always hot and well proportioned. Service was excellent. Charming atmosphere, outside seating was delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily13121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Le Hobbit also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Le Hobbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing