We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great poutine, hamburger and salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chic Shack

Le Chic Shack
Ranked #38 of 1,433 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Chic Shack is a new gourmet burger/milk shake restaurant opened in June 2012. We also serve poutines, fries and salads. For dessert, we offer milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches. The owners of Le Chic Shack are the sister-brother team of Lucy and Evan Price. They are also owners of the renowned Auberge Saint-Antoine and Panache restaurant in Quebec City. Located in a historic building owned by their family for five decades, Le Chic Shack reflects their culinary and interior design expertise. In creating their new restaurant, Lucy and Evan worked closely with their management team and Chef Mikael Garneau, previously of Panache, The Culinary Edge of San Francisco (California) and their local supplier base.Beyond our tasty recipes, these are some features that make Le Chic Shack stand out:* brioche buns made by local artisan baker Borderon et fils * sweet potato fries (along with fries from white potatoes)* uniquely built poutines - from side to main course dishes* milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches made with old fashioned coaticook ice cream * our own fruit sodas and ice tea* draft beer from the local Archibald brewery* draft wine selected by the sommelier of the Panache restaurant* the dynamism and energy of an open kitchen* a relaxed dining environment with tremendous views of the Chateau Frontenac through large French windowsLe Chic Shack is located on the Place d'Armes in the Vieux-Quebec (Old Quebec), facing the Chateau Frontenac and below the Musee du Fort.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great poutine, hamburger and salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went for a quick meal on a Friday night. Looking for a the holy grail of poutine, and we found it. at Chick Shack. It was different than the usual french fries with gravy and cheese curds. There's ca,e in a good size bowl, with almost like fried mashed potatoes with gravy. We had smoked meat on top of ours and wow, was it ever good. A smallish hamburger on a good bun - not complaining, nice to have a decent portion, instead of a far-too-large portion you feel compelled to finish. A house salad with a nice tangy dressing, also served in a bowl - rounded out the meal. would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    382
    122
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This restaurant belies it's appearance which is really very mundane. We decided to try it because of the very good reviews on Tripadvisor. The staff were friendly and very helpful, prices were the most reasonable we found in the Old City and the food, although basic was good and well presented. The best was their special Poutine which was wonderful, unlike any other. Sadly We didn't manage to try their special fries which, we have heard are also great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Pine, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try a poutine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found this place with no problem. Kind of a young vibe for us old geezers but the food was great. Had the coq au vin poutin, hard to describe, but like a great chicken and red wine stew over crispy potatoes. The cheese curds sound weird but taste great. Sat at the window and watched Quebecois and tourists stroll by. Great desserts too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Le Chic Shack was recommended to me by a friend in my first visit to Quebec city.
The location is great and the view of Chateau Frontenac is amazing. Service is a bit slow and prices are a bit high, but food is delicious.
Their burgers are small and come without fries but are one of the tastiest I had.
The Poutines are artistic and delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ab_adnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

my wife had a vegetation burger it was good but the patty broke into pieces. still was really good. they were kind of little bit small but still filled us up

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank desimtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chic Shack also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Chic Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing