We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast fresh and fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chic Shack

Le Chic Shack
Ranked #40 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Chic Shack is a new gourmet burger/milk shake restaurant opened in June 2012. We also serve poutines, fries and salads. For dessert, we offer milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches. The owners of Le Chic Shack are the sister-brother team of Lucy and Evan Price. They are also owners of the renowned Auberge Saint-Antoine and Panache restaurant in Quebec City. Located in a historic building owned by their family for five decades, Le Chic Shack reflects their culinary and interior design expertise. In creating their new restaurant, Lucy and Evan worked closely with their management team and Chef Mikael Garneau, previously of Panache, The Culinary Edge of San Francisco (California) and their local supplier base.Beyond our tasty recipes, these are some features that make Le Chic Shack stand out:* brioche buns made by local artisan baker Borderon et fils * sweet potato fries (along with fries from white potatoes)* uniquely built poutines - from side to main course dishes* milk shakes and ice cream sandwiches made with old fashioned coaticook ice cream * our own fruit sodas and ice tea* draft beer from the local Archibald brewery* draft wine selected by the sommelier of the Panache restaurant* the dynamism and energy of an open kitchen* a relaxed dining environment with tremendous views of the Chateau Frontenac through large French windowsLe Chic Shack is located on the Place d'Armes in the Vieux-Quebec (Old Quebec), facing the Chateau Frontenac and below the Musee du Fort.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fast fresh and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a gem of a spot. Fast service, fresh cocept and the food was fantastic. Great poutine - red onions, brised beef, cheese with all round awesomeness. The burger with mustard, gruyere and bison hit the spot. But the strawberry shake with raspberry liquor was the show stealer.

All in all a winner with a great vibe

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    377
    121
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place was perfect for us! Modest prices, great portions on the sweet potato fries, gluten-free buns, vegetarian options, and DELICIOUS BOOZY MILKSHAKES!!! Where else can you get an espresso and baileys milkshake? We went there TWICE in our two-day stay! SO GOOD!

Even when they had run out of their vegetarian patties, they accomodated me and made me an egg-sandwich. And their gluten free bread actually tastes good. And when they messed up my order accidentally, they gave me a free shot of baileys! WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

... BOOZY MILKSHAKES!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajcbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place has terrific burgers and really good poutine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The burgers are juicy, and the poutine isnt traditional but tastes great. And the homemade sodas are delicious...go for the mango.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MinaAtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stopped at this place, close to the terrace, for a quick lunch. I had a LeChic and it was excellent. Fresh, great bread, local made cheese, fresh pickles. I could do without the sauce - ok tasting but made for a busy sandwich with all the other great tastes. We also had the Le Babe salad that was great. Very fresh and filling. To round it out we the sweet potato fries. I eat a lot of these everywhere and these were some of the best. Overall a great meal, decent price for the location, and worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank summitsvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge portions, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Based on TA reviews, we thought we would try this restaurant for brunch/lunch. The burgers are HUGE, and quite good. I had the chicken burger, which was a filet of chicken. I found it tasty but quite large to finish. My hubby had one of the beef burgers, and said he would have enjoyed it more with out the remoulade which he found made the bun soggy.

We also had the poutine forestier, and while good, it definitely wasn't like a traditional poutine (which I was craving). There wasn't enough description on the menu to indicate that the sauce was entirely different from a 'regular' poutine. I would have ordered the regular, had I known the difference.

Service was good. The restaurant has a 'fun' décor, and the windows are great for people watching while you eat. The cost of our lunch was $42 for a poutine, two burgers and two coffees...so not a bad price. Probably would try something different the next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastacia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chic Shack also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Chic Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing