We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Breakfast in Quebec City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cochon Dingue

Cochon Dingue
Ranked #33 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast in Quebec City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Ate breakfast near Auberge deux Lions on Blvd. Rene' Levesque - the staff was very friendly, the food was delicious, and it was reasonably priced. My husband's scrambled eggs had a LOT of smoked salmon in it - topped with asparagus. Cafe au lait creamy and delicious - served in a bowl, with no handles. A great start to the day!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sshTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    367
    146
    40
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is one of a chain of restaurant concepts and I believe this one has several locations. The entire chain (of different restaurants) all offer Quebecois food. You can pretty much find duck poutine on all the menus. The food was good, service was great. My only complaint was the 'bistro' needed updating. I had the maple ribs, which were very good. Everything tasted home-made. This location is huge, two stories, but I'm sure in the busy season this place is packed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WISHIWERERICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The BEST place I ate in Old-Quebec!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was the best food and service I received over my 4 day, three night stay. Both meals were delicious, filling and made with local ingredients. I was tempted to not try other restaurants, when I return I will visit and dine here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Excellent French and Quebecois specialties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have visited the Cochon Dingue ("Crazy Pig") as it was close to the Québec-Lévis ferry. This branch in the Petit Champlain district was opened in 1979 and was the first restaurant out of four Cochons existing in Québec today. The Cochon Dingue offers classic French and Quebecois specialties. The atmosphere is quite nice. Staff was polite and attentive. Although the restaurant was crowded for dinner the service was fast and efficient. As it seems that the place is always very busy I highly recommend to do a reservation. As a starter we have shared a French onion soup. As a main dish I had the grilled pork tenderloin "Du Breton" with mustard & maple sauce, rice and vegetables. It was very delicious. My spouse went for the mussels which were tasty too (she even liked the fries which she normally leaves on the plate). The value for money at Cochon Dingue is excellent. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MP-BusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

There are two things that really stand out to me. Firstly, our waitress was beautiful and smiley and gracious and very welcoming. Thank you to her!! (dark hair, pierced tongue, gorgeous happy smile) Secondly, the bacon bits on the caesar salad were fantastic.
This is a great place for families! They are prepared for small children.
Kitchen service a little slow……but worth the wait. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfroToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochon Dingue also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Cochon Dingue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing