We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good menu”
Review of Cafe De La Paix - CLOSED

Cafe De La Paix
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: rue Saint Louis
Transit: RTC Quebec
USA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good menu”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were pleased with the menu choices and the house wine was quite good. But the noise level in this very small restaurant was often overwhelming. The waiters were fairly boisterous so head elsewhere if you are seeking a quiet dining experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    43
    13
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible attitude and average food...”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited on a Tuesday night and long after the rest of our food arrived and was finished, a long forgotten Caesar Salad finally arrived. When we tried to send it back, the huffy and puffy manager appeared and absolutely refused to take the Salad off the bill. It was a showdown at the Okay Corral but this French Canadian wasn't budging and rather than drag it on and on, we finally relented and paid for the untouched and tardy salad.

The atmosphere was ok and the onion soup was on the salty side but the Anciens Canadiens, next door, was far better than Cafe De La Paix both in atmosphere and in food.

Diners in Old Quebec can definitely do better than Cafe De La Paix.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good French Food at a Good Price”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went here on seeing that it was sort of off the beaten path and that it had good reviews. I would definitely recommend a dinner here. There were a wide variety of options- I had escargot and frog legs with unreal minestrone soup and my wife had a great filet. It was small and quaint with good service. All in all, the food is Quebec City is very good, but I would put this in the upper quarter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and price”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

By down the street, the previous reviewer meant, down a side street, which is why I think that when we went the restaurant was so quiet. We took the advice given, and went before 7 PM to get the price fixed menu. My wife had the farfelle and I the salad nicoise. Both were very good. Both were preceded by a lovely pea soup (soup of that day) and both were followed by a coffe/tea and desert. In my case coffee and chocolate cake in my wife's case tea (Twinings Earl Grey) and a creme de carmel. Both were excellent; although, admitedly, my cake portion was small. My price was 18$ and her's 16$. Dinner for the 2 of us cost less than $55 with 15% gratuity. In Quebec City, that's a welcome, and tasty, rarity! The restaurant itself was well decorated and nicely furnished.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 955 helpful votes
“Good early dinner special”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Next door to the more famous Anciens Canadiens, the Cafe de la Paix also offers a good early dinner special, and they serve it until 6:45 pm. I didn't think the food or atmosphere was quite as good here as at the Anciens Canadiens, but it was still very good -- and an excellent value on the 3-course $20ish menu. The Cafe also has a better kids menu than their next door neighbor ($12 gets the kids a complete meal almost as good as adults get for $20, like tasty steak).

As an American dealing with the poor exchange rate, I don't think the full priced menu would have been a good value. But if you get the early dinner, you will have a better meal than you would likely be able to find in America for $20. We had both the chicken and beef dishes, and everything was tasty. Service was good, and the atmosphere was very french-bistro style.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De La Paix also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing