We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst croque monsieur ever...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Buade

Cafe Buade
Ranked #215 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
520 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Worst croque monsieur ever...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I didn't expect "haute cuisine", but at the very least a fresh ciabatta, properly melted cheese and a bit of love!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    150
    79
    46
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Cafe Buade
We picked this little cafe based on its location and reviews on Tripadvisor. However, we were experience Cafe Buade as a disappointment. Based on the reviews we had expected more. The location is good and the cafe is rather easy to find in the Old city of Quebec. The service was also good.

Our comment was that the food was average. Our choice was spaghetti and a sandwich with fries. The fries were home made, but the impression was that the fries were overdone and fatty. The waitress was told because new ones were wanted, but she said they were to be like that because they were homemade and they were to be dark brown. So then we excepted this, but based on other fries we have had several places including plugins - these were a disappointment. The outer parts of the sandwich were also burned black. So we lacked some finesse on the food. So the value for was not as hoped for.

Cafe Buade is an okay place, but most likely you will find better places which is more cozier and at a more reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bland food, no atmosphere and still a high cost!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

After one week of eating out in Quebec City, we understood the cost of a good meal. An average meal in the city was around $60 with no alcohol or desserts included. We waited until late New Year's Eve to wander about for a meal, realizing reservations would have had to be made for any good meal. Not to deter us, we stopped in the Cafe Buade which reminded me of a "Friendly"s " in the USA, bright lights, booths and tables, that kind of setting. Key here was that they were open!
I ordered a small steak and my partner had some sort of sandwich. We waited for the server for awhile, put the order in and when it came out, it was the toughest piece of leather I have ever chewed on, it was void of any taste & garnished with overcooked veggies. We were their for over a hour, most of it waiting for the food, and the limited English the server knew made for difficult conversations. The only winning part of the meal was the sundae that I had watched them preparing as I walked in the place, the ice cream looked home made and very creamy so I opted to get that and was not disappointed. I would say the service was indifferent to us, the food below average and would not go back unless I was paid to do so. Total price $74US for the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MILLANDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited the restaurant in September 2012. We came there, 4 starving adults, for dinner (didn't make any reservations and there were free tables).
The restaurant is in the center of the old city, right near the Notre-Dame basilica and cathedral, so we were afraid it could be a tourist trap. But no, we enjoyed the visit and the food a lot. Atmosphere was pleasant and service was good.
The rabbit terrine was OK - not something amazing, but good. We loved the pea soup and the soup of the day (with chicken).
Pepperoni and cheese pizza was very good.
Spaghetti was good.
My beef prime rib steak was delicious. It had a lot of fat strips in it (so it's not for those who don't like fat in their food), but the fat made it very juicy. The sauce was good and added to the taste. With a baked potato - it was a very satisfying meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Soup to warm one up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We happened on this Restaurant by chance looking soup to warm us up. We had a bowl of their pea soup and a bowl of their special of the day (cream of leek) and enjoyed both. We later learned this is the oldest continuoulsy operated establishment in th city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bucskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Buade also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Buade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing